We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent middle eastern food and wonderful summer drinks.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zahav

Zahav
237 Saint James Pl, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3936 (City Center East)
215-625-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zahav is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 3,785 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Dock Street at Walnut (Between 2nd & 3rd)
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent middle eastern food and wonderful summer drinks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

They have a good wine list and my wife loved one of the special summer drinks. We had the salad and hummus appetizer, a sampler of small plates, warm bread and outstanding hummus. The leg of lamb looked fabulous at other tables and we vowed to come back to have it. It was a very busy Saturday night, but the service was prompt and friendly. The flavors made us say omg!
The menu is small plates with great vegetarian dishes as well as meat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    105
    33
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always delivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here many many times over the years and have never had a bad meal. I love bringing out of town guests here to try some of my favorite dishes-the fried cauliflower and crispy haloumi are standouts. It is expanding, due to popularity and reputation, so I worry that they won't be able to sustain the quality.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite restaurants anywhere. The best, however, is the braised lamb shank. Bring meat eating friends though, you will need help with it. It is not a cheap place, but well worth the price. I would say that if you are in town for a night, this would be the best option.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Noticed the review of this restaurant in Trip Advisor, and we decided to give it a try. It was excellent. The service was very good, and the food was a welcome respite from Philly's ubiquitous cheese steaks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma.
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“wow! What a dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were lucky enough to be part of a rehearsal dinner there recently and we were all had the multi course dinner. It seemed like the food kept coming out forever! So many wonderful small plate items, all beautifully spiced,served with warm fresh bread. It was awesome. And then they served the lamb, cooked for 48 hours. I've never had lamb that tasted like this before. I could barely even sample the chicken and desert plates that came after.Wonderful. Although the wedding was wonderful, all of us were constantly talking about this very special meal we had. I really hope I get the chance to dine there again because it was a unique experience. Yum! Yum!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zahav also viewed

 

Been to Zahav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zahav, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.