We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk by” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christ Church

Christ Church
N. 2nd Street at Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
215-922-1695
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Christ Church like an insider
Top Rated
$19*
and up
Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #15 of 555 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This church's congregation has included Ben Franklin, George Washington and Betsy Ross.
Omaha
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Walk by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Good walk by tourist stop. We read the signs. Neat to see the history. 5 minutes to see and appreciate.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    115
    32
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,154 reviews 1,154 reviews
544 attraction reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
“Interesting and historic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is not only a beautiful church, it's been used continuously for over 300 years. Go and talk with a docent who will let you know all sorts of information and answer any questions you may have.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We always bring our family here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

It's a beautiful space with lots of history. I recommend staying for a lecture from one of the historians. You can ask questions and about specific pews. Take your time to look at the different corners of the church, there is a lot to see and read.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, old church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Liked walking around Old City and quaint streets nearby

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Always a destination.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have been to Philly a few times in my life, both for business and recreation. Christ Church is always on my agenda. While there are many historical destinations in town, there's something about this church and graveyard that just set it above the rest. There is just something...important...about sitting where the "founding fathers" of America sat while our country was in such turmoil that makes you take some time to just relax.

The staff is great, and very knowledgeable . They are always willing to answer any questions you have. It's always a pleasure to interact with people that just truly enjoy their work.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christ Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.