We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Architectural and cultural history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin Court

Franklin Court
314-322 Market St., Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
215-597-8974
Update attraction details
Ranked #93 of 276 attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With levels above and below ground, the complex houses a theater and museum devoted to Franklin's life and inventions.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Architectural and cultural history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

An easy place to stop in for a quick visit and learn a bit more about Philadelphia history. The preserved archaeological pit gives a nice context and the outlines of the old buildings are a postmodern masterpiece.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
584 reviews 584 reviews
397 attraction reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
646 helpful votes 646 helpful votes
“Learn About Philly's Most Famous Son”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Franklin Court was one of my favorite places to visit in historic Philadelphia when I was a kid with the old post office and museum and printing shop so I was disappointed when it was closed for renovations when I visited with my kids in the summer of 2012. While it is now open, the Underground Museum is still closed for renovations.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pretty Sights in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It is in a nice area of the city in the old section. We really liked it to take pictures and the kids ran around after visiting Congress Hall.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Free Franklin History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This wonderful, free of charge exhibit has wonderful furniture and musical instruments designed by or for Ben Franklin. There is a great movie shown about Franklin. There are clean bathrooms and interactive exhibits.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Historic Philly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Franklin Court was an interesting place to revisit after many years. The Printing Office was especially informative. Did not know the area was under construction.Would recommend visiting now & when the construction is completed. I didn't find out where I could get older pictures of the way the court looked.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Court also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.