We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Sights in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin Court

Franklin Court
314-322 Market St., Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
215-597-8974
Improve this listing
Visit Franklin Court like an insider
Top Rated
$18*
and up
Constitutional Walking Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #122 of 552 things to do in Philadelphia
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With levels above and below ground, the complex houses a theater and museum devoted to Franklin's life and inventions.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pretty Sights in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It is in a nice area of the city in the old section. We really liked it to take pictures and the kids ran around after visiting Congress Hall.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Free Franklin History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This wonderful, free of charge exhibit has wonderful furniture and musical instruments designed by or for Ben Franklin. There is a great movie shown about Franklin. There are clean bathrooms and interactive exhibits.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Historic Philly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Franklin Court was an interesting place to revisit after many years. The Printing Office was especially informative. Did not know the area was under construction.Would recommend visiting now & when the construction is completed. I didn't find out where I could get older pictures of the way the court looked.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Benjamin Franklin Fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I don't think as many people make it to Franklin Court, but it is a highlight of Philadelphia and just as historic as The Liberty Bell and Independence Square. Franklin Court contains Benjamin Franklin's Post Office, which is still in operation today, you can send a letter from here in a special designed envelope, post marked with Franklin's signature. There are a lot of historic, artefacts to see inside and a wonderful courtyard out the back.
Take note of his signature, ( B free Franklin ) He was an amazing man and played a great role in the formation of America, it's a pity there is not someone, of he his ability today.
The Post Office is just a short walk down Market Street, from the tourist centre

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Post Office, Printing Press, Old City Philly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've taken my sons on many trips to Philadelphia, mainly in the late '90's when we were studying Pennsylvania history and Early American History. Living in the suburbs of Philadelphia has been a real plus when it comes to "touching and seeing" history. The area of Old City where Ben Franklin's first post office is located is worth a visit. You can even buy stamps and mail letters with the original postmark from Franklin's day. We never went to the underground museum because there was so much to see and hear on ground level! A guide demonstrated Ben's printing press and made some sample pages using it. We were led on a tour upstairs where the tourist was able to see the "insides" of the building. If the museum is closed, there are still many things to see right in this area. Betsy Ross's house, Carpenter's Hall, Independence Hall, and the Liberty Bell, all within walking distance. Enjoy your visit to historic Philadelphia!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Court also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.