We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Franklin History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin Court

Franklin Court
314-322 Market St., Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
215-597-8974
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #80 of 281 attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With levels above and below ground, the complex houses a theater and museum devoted to Franklin's life and inventions.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Free Franklin History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This wonderful, free of charge exhibit has wonderful furniture and musical instruments designed by or for Ben Franklin. There is a great movie shown about Franklin. There are clean bathrooms and interactive exhibits.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Historic Philly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Franklin Court was an interesting place to revisit after many years. The Printing Office was especially informative. Did not know the area was under construction.Would recommend visiting now & when the construction is completed. I didn't find out where I could get older pictures of the way the court looked.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Benjamin Franklin Fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I don't think as many people make it to Franklin Court, but it is a highlight of Philadelphia and just as historic as The Liberty Bell and Independence Square. Franklin Court contains Benjamin Franklin's Post Office, which is still in operation today, you can send a letter from here in a special designed envelope, post marked with Franklin's signature. There are a lot of historic, artefacts to see inside and a wonderful courtyard out the back.
Take note of his signature, ( B free Franklin ) He was an amazing man and played a great role in the formation of America, it's a pity there is not someone, of he his ability today.
The Post Office is just a short walk down Market Street, from the tourist centre

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Post Office, Printing Press, Old City Philly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've taken my sons on many trips to Philadelphia, mainly in the late '90's when we were studying Pennsylvania history and Early American History. Living in the suburbs of Philadelphia has been a real plus when it comes to "touching and seeing" history. The area of Old City where Ben Franklin's first post office is located is worth a visit. You can even buy stamps and mail letters with the original postmark from Franklin's day. We never went to the underground museum because there was so much to see and hear on ground level! A guide demonstrated Ben's printing press and made some sample pages using it. We were led on a tour upstairs where the tourist was able to see the "insides" of the building. If the museum is closed, there are still many things to see right in this area. Betsy Ross's house, Carpenter's Hall, Independence Hall, and the Liberty Bell, all within walking distance. Enjoy your visit to historic Philadelphia!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, PA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“History Re-lived”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Franklin court is a wonderful place to visit and filled with interesting facts. When we visited, "Ben Franklin" was there and we visited with him for about 1/2 hour. He was very clever and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Court also viewed

 

Been to Franklin Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Franklin Court to your Saves list