We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get tickets early” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Independence Hall

Independence Hall
Chestnut Street between 5th and 6th Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)
215 965 2305
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #8 of 281 attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Historic Sites, Government Buildings, Architectural Buildings, History Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Both the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution were signed in this historic building.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Get tickets early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Admission is time based and tickets doled out first come first serve until gone. Got to ticket counter at 10:15 AM and earliest available entry time was 4:00 PM.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,297
    544
    149
    31
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“How to make the most of your Independence Hall visit?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

No matter what age you are, if you're visiting Philadelphia, you're probably going to go see the Liberty Bell. After all, it's one of the top 3 most visited attractions in Philly. Well, Independence Hall is situated right across the street from the Liberty Bell, so most people are going to visit both attractions one after the other. So here are my tips based on my family's recent visit.

- Go when it first opens in the morning. The Independence Visitor Center opens at 8:30am. The Independence Hall opens at 9am. I suggest getting there before 9am.
- Go on a weekday if possible; weekends tend to be crowded.
- A money-saving tip if you're driving in: if you enter the Independence Visitor Center Garage before 9am, you can park there all day for $12.50 ($17 normally). By getting there before 9am, you can grab the free, timed Independence Hall tickets, use the restrooms (none available at Liberty Bell Center), and then get in line for security to visit either Liberty Bell or Independence Hall.
- Make online reservation for the timed tickets if possible. It's only $1.50 per ticket. But if you can't get online reservations for 10am or earlier, then forget it and try to get the tickets in person at 8:30am instead. They only allocate a certain number of tickets for online reservation for each time slot - the rest are distributed in person only. I called them and was told of this fact.
- Depending on your Independence Hall ticket entry time, you may want to see the Liberty Bell before or after Independence Hall. Since they're across the street from each other, with separate security lines, my recommendation is to request the earliest Independence Hall entry time tickets, and see the Liberty Bell after Independence Hall. You can also see my review for the Liberty Bell.
- The reasons I recommend visiting Independence Hall first, before Liberty Bell, are:
1) The earlier the time slot you get, the smaller your tour group will be. The way the tour works is, you're told to clear security 15-20 minutes prior to your time slot. Then you enter the holding room in the East Wing just before your time slot. Each tour can have up to 80 people. A park ranger will provide you with a guided tour through different parts of Independence Hall and you are to stay with your tour group. Since we went with the early time slot on a weekday, we only had 15 people in our group. That meant more time to see and appreciate everything, not to mention taking pictures without having to deal with a large crowd.
2) The amount of time it takes to walk through the Liberty Bell center can be unpredictable. It's possible to go through the whole thing in less than 10 minutes (if you go straight to the Bell and skip reading everything), or spend a good hour or more seeing and reading the ancillary exhibits. Therefore you may either miss your Independence Hall time slot or be too early, if you visit Liberty Bell first. By going to Liberty Bell after Independence Hall you can then feel free to take as little or as much time at the Bell at your leisure without any time constraints.
- Time permitting, also go visit the National Constitution Center (admission fee required). See my review for that.
- Finally, if you're into touristy things, take the double decker bus tour. The bus stop is on the same block. See my Big Bus Tours review.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Short but fascinating tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We picked up our tickets on the day of our tour -- a very short wait since folks had neglected to pick up pre-ordered tickets. The tour only lasted about 30 minutes, but our guide was funny and knowledgable. It was very interesting to see rooms with so much history.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NH
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Must See!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I piece of history that you have to see! It is amazing to see where our country started (and then see where it is today in DC). The National Park Service guides were very friendly and informative. Unfortunately the security guards were not very friendly when asked questions.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice story”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The guide was so engaged that he was even able to fascinate the school children. He told the stories as if he was part of the independence story himself and now I have understood how important this part of the history was for USA. Unfortunately there were no German speaking guides around. So my husband was depending on my translations.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Independence Hall also viewed

 

Been to Independence Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Independence Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Independence Hall to your Saves list