We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy food selections!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reading Terminal Market

Reading Terminal Market
12th and Arch, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)
215 922 2317
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Reading Terminal Market like an insider
$35*
and up
Ranked #5 of 555 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Featuring over 80 concessions, this historic market has something for even the most eclectic of tastebuds.
Bluffton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Holy food selections!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This market is absolutely wonderful to visit. Especially if you have family or friends that have different tastes in food! This is a must. This market is comprised of probably 50 or more places to get food and all of the food is amazing. Definately recommend getting a little from several places then find a seat in the middle and dig in!!! You will not be disappointed.....finish it up with some fabulous ice cream

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    277
    34
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tervuren
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Wish I had such a market in my village !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Reading Terminal Market is a very cosy place to shop, eat, watch, taste and discover. Asian food, american cheese, fish,meat, Amish farmers,.... you name it.
The atmosphere is very lively. I would go there several times a week if this were in my town.
An absolute must when in Philly

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Reading Terminal Market is a wild place ~ so much food on offer that you're forced to consider how much you can possibly carry before you get to the more mundane consideration of how much you can possibly eat. When we're in Philly to do something else, we go to Pearl's Oyster Bar for a bowl of oyster stew, pick up a few cookies for dessert right across the way and head to the other end of the market for sticky buns for another day. A food shopping trip to the Market is another story.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch at Reading Terminal Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a great time. Not far from the train station. We flew in from Atlanta, and were taking the train on out to see family. Stopped at Reading Terminal market on the suggestion of the train conductor. Great variety of foods, and atmosphere. We were thrilled we had made the effort.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“So much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I heard about this place from friends and wanted to see for myself. Don't go hungry..lol because it will overwhelm you. Being the indecisive person that I am it was really hard for me to choose between the cheesesteak sandwiches, salad bars, pizza spots etc. We ended at the soul food restaurant (the name escapses me but it's the only soul food restaurant) and surprisingly it was very good. The fried chicken and collards greens were very well seasoned however mac n cheese was missing something in flavor. The bakery in the very back of the market was crowded b/c they sell items for $2 after a certain time and the locals were there in packs. So much too choose and be ready for the adventure.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Terminal Market also viewed

 

Been to Reading Terminal Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reading Terminal Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.