We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food choices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reading Terminal Market

Reading Terminal Market
12th and Arch, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)
215 922 2317
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Reading Terminal Market like an insider
$35*
and up
Ranked #5 of 555 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Dining, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Featuring over 80 concessions, this historic market has something for even the most eclectic of tastebuds.
pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Reading Terminal Market has something for everyone. You can travel with friends and everyone can enjoy something different..From pizza to geat Italian dishes to homemade turkey dinners and great bakery items..it has it all under one roof..

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    277
    34
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Reading Market is one of the best city markets we have been to. This is a huge indoor building with aisles & aisles of food & goods. Everything from sandwiches, seafood, meat, fruits, vegetables, desserts & on & on. Everything we ate was excellent. I highly recommend Tommy Dinic's for his famous pork & broccoli rabe sandwich, 4th st cookies, & Bassetts icecream. We walked their from city hall.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A foodies delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Fun for all ages and appetites. Enough real food stalls To make it authentic, rather than just a tourist attraction ( like Faneuil hall in Boston). Loads of fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Huge array of food stands under one roof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

You can spend hours here -- eating, shopping, just smelling the amazing assortment of aromas wafting from the food shops. A cavernous, very old space, wavy floors, dozens of merchants. We've been here several times. Our favorite food stops -- Tommy DiNic's (hot roast beef and pork sandwiches, winner of the Travel Channel's "Adam Richman's Best Sandwich in America") and the Down Home Diner (Chef Jack McDavid starred in the Food Network’s "Grillin’ & Chillin with Bobby Flay"). So much food, so little time to eat!

If you come by car, you can get two hours of parking for $4 at the 12th and Filbert garage. Easy in and out. We did it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A bit overwhelming but definently worth seeing. We had the best turkey sandwich I have ever tasted at The Original Turkey. Tasted like Thanksgiving dinner between slices of fresh bread. Suggest that if you go with someone let them "hold your spot" at a table as seating is limited . This is an experience that will satisfy all your senses. Is an easy walk from the Omni Hotel area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Terminal Market also viewed

 

Been to Reading Terminal Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reading Terminal Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.