We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Cooler in PA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern State Penitentiary

Eastern State Penitentiary
2124 Fairmount Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19130
215 236 3300
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$62*
and up
Philadelphia CityPass
Ranked #5 of 262 Attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Eastern State Penitentiary Historic Site was once the most famous and expensive prison in the world, but stands today in ruin, a haunting world of crumbling cellblocks and empty guard towers. Known for its grand architecture and strict discipline, this was the world’s first true “penitentiary,” a prison designed to inspire penitence, or true regret, in the hearts of convicts. Tours today include the cellblocks, solitary punishment cells, Al Capone’s Cell, and Death Row.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing Cooler in PA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Go for the ghost tour. This place is just too cool to miss. The pure scale is incredible, and looking into the cells is just eerie. If you're a tourist, don't miss this. It's got to be our neatest attraction

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,282
    529
    89
    24
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT- Must do in Philly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I did this tour in March 2012 when in Philadelphia.
I had a minute issue when arriving the tour was fully booked, and got told there was another tour in an hour, so i went and sat in the coffee shop over the road. When i returned to the premises i was told that the next tour was also booked. However as they had told me i need'nt book andto return before the hour was up, they allowed me to join the tour.
The tour was a brilliant experience and enabled me to get an insight into the past of Philadelphia. The place is very old fashioned and hasnt seen much rennovation, which adds to the experience and makes the trip even better. The tour guide made it very special and interesting. Was good to see Al Capone's old cell and see how hes was different to everyone else's
I would strongly reccommend anyone in philly to do the trip.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I enjoy going into old locations such as this for the history. This specific prison has an amazing layout and is very true to the setup while still in operation. I love going into the old cells as well as seeing the luxury that was stowed upon Al Capone as he was imprisoned here for a few months. It, like much of Philadelphia, is rich in history and so interesting to spend a few hours out of your day touring!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Unusual attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited the eastern State Penitentiary in Philadelphia on a cold, snowy March day and were amazed to see that hundreds of others were there to see it then too. This is a very popular attraction and has historical significance. The tour guide did a good job explaining the thought process behind this reformed method of penitence for crimes committed in the 1800s. Most of the penitentiary is in serious disrepair but what do you expect? It hasn't been used in this way for many, many years. The Al Capone cell was interesting. One of the television reality shows which investigates ghosts featured this attraction, so it might be profitable if this facility could offer flashlight tours after dark.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“CHILL'S”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place is amazing, i cannot believe people actually were imprisoned here. When you first step in the place, you immediately drops like 10 degrees. They have kept it pretty much original but are renovating for safety purposes. Well worth the stop here. Philadelphia in its self has great history.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern State Penitentiary also viewed

 

Been to Eastern State Penitentiary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern State Penitentiary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.