We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIDN'T RESERVE OUR ROOM!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 North 17th Street, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #52 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DIDN'T RESERVE OUR ROOM!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My fiancée and I were in Philly for a convention at the Convention Center. We decided to stay over for one night rather than drive back home for two hours. We reserved a room with a King-size bed. We arrived at 5PM and checked-in with the front desk clerk. When we go to the room, it was a room with twin double beds!! APPARENTLY, THE CLERK DIDN'T TELL US THAT SHE GAVE US A ROOM WITH TWIN DOUBLE BEDS!! We went back down to another clerk and told her that we had reserved a room with a King-size bed. SHE CHECKED THE HOTEL'S DATABASE AND SAID THERE WERE NO MORE ROOMS WITH A KING-SIZE BED AVAILABLE!! I told her that we reserved the room and told her to continue searching. She then gave me a line from the "Seinfeld" episode where Jerry reserves a car rental. She said "A reservation is not a guarantee that we would get the room". We were angry, but remained calm. We tried to get a refund, but she said we couldn't because we booked through a third party. She continued to check the database and offered a larger room but still with twin double beds. After three tries, she signed us up for a complimentary one-day room pass if we go to another Sheraton hotel in the future. Not what we wanted, but we took it and returned to our twin double bed room, since we were tired.

In the room, it was clean. However, the A/C was very noisy. Rather than go back to the front desk, we decided to live with it. We were still upset that we had to sleep on a double bed which was uncomfortable for both of us. Parking was expensive in the hotel for the weekend….it was $20. It was only after we left that we saw the parking lot across the street for $5!! We didn’t stay around this hotel after check-out so we don’t know much about this area. And as far I know, the complimentary room maybe just BS. I will never repeat at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    501
    370
    187
    145
See reviews for
263
307
101
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

NOT CLEAN! It is close to some thigs but not worth the aggrevation we went through from ROACHES in the bathroom to no towels and then just a messy room.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Should have known this was going to be a problem from the outset - attending conference at this hotel but because of flight timings and business commitments wanted to add a day before and after the event. Hotel couldn't accommodate this so I had to make 3 separate bookings ( most other hotels seem happy to accommodate a rate change within a mulit-night stay)
Arrived at the hotel (after a fairly horrnedous trans Atlantic flight ) - to discover the Philly International bike race was in town - and I was behind a coach load of cyclists and supporters trying to check in - took nearly an hour!! When I got to check in - lo and behold the booking problem came back to bite me - claimed I was only booked for 1 nigth . Eventually got that one sorted - headed up to the room ( BTW -the free water and cookies mentioned in a previous review are only for Starwood preferred guests - as I was told in no uncertian terms.)
Room wasn't too bad ,a bit dowdy - like the hotel itself felt like it needed a lick of paint. Facilities were also a little limited - no safe or fridge in room, very small coffee maker with one sachet of coffee - but nothing else.
Servcie at breakfast was actually one of the few high points - staff were friendly and helpful unlike those at the conferecne lunch who seemed intent on being as rude as possible. Following day - room key stopped working - back to front desk ; repeat of the whole booking saga. No aplogy it was my fault apparently for arriving a day early. Wehn I got back to my room after a lengthy business dinner - discovered my room hadn't even been serviced - I was fairly jet lagged at this point so just went to sleep - couldn't be bothered to complain. Continued like this throughout the stay even to check out when IOgot 3 separate bills!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Ice machine doesn't work. Power sockets are falling out of the walls. Ethernet connection doesn't work. Wifi doesn't work. Not impressed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

After reading the reviews of the Sheraton Philadelphia City Center here on Trip Advisor, I have to admit feeling a bit of trepidation about staying here. But Sheraton had a nice promotion going and the rooms were unbelievably cheap ($99/night) for the center of Philadelphia on Memorial Day weekend. I usually stay at another Starwood property down the street (the Westin) when I visit Philadelphia, and I have to say that some of the Westin mojo has rubbed off on this Sheraton in terms of the room furnishings, the dark wood paneling in the rooms and hallways, and the very nice bathroom extras (thermal shaving cream!). Here I have to admit that I'm in the Starwood Preferred Guest Program, and I seem to have lucked into a fantastic room at the hotel. The room was up on the 25th floor and had sweeping views out onto the Benjamin Franklin Parkway and the Philly Museum of Art. (There was a plaque on the elevators that said "Starwood Preferred Guest Floor" so I think the other floors might not be as nice) If you're visiting the museum district of Philadelphia, this hotel is perfectly situated -- you literally walk out onto Logan Circle and can easily walk up to the Philadelphia Museum of Art and Fairmount Park. It's about a 5-minute cab ride to the 30th Street Amtrak train station. The only negatives of the hotel, I have to admit, is that some of the renovation work of the hotel seems to have a ways to go. For example, the fitness center and pool area still needed an upgrade. And, the massive size of the hotel (it's really a hotel for hosting convention guests, it seems like) makes it conducive to groups of travelers and large families, less so for a romantic getaway. During the Memorial Day weekend, the lobby was buzzing and active. That being said, the concierge and check-in staff were very friendly, courteous and professional. And, when we needed extra towels and hair dryer, were very quick to bring replacements. Big kudos to Starwood for revitalizing the Sheraton brand! Especially if you're an SPG program member, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms are!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

This Sheraton was huge and located within proximity of where we can walk or take the Phash Trolley for our activities. It offered the amenities that we wanted except no free internet in the room, business center internet was free. It has a seafood restaurant for evening dinners and a cafe for breakfast and lunch, there are many restaurants within walking distance. It has big ballrooms for conferences and seminars. We got a good deal for our 2 nights stay. We had a standard room with king bed and there was a view of downtown City Hall from our window. It was clean and comfortable. The TV was old with limited channels and should be updated. We wanted to watch the Lakers vs Suns, but was not available. You had to go to the bar to see the game. Since they provided no airport shuttle we use the Lady Liberty Shuttle for $10 per person to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

O.K., maybe if you want a flat screen t.v, you are going to be disappointed.

Other than that, every blessed thing was just fine and totally painless.

They even had bottled water, sodas in cans, fruit and PHILLY Pretzels at check-in with people to help GIVE them away if you wanted. When has that happened last?.....O.K. maybe those super caloric DoubleTree cookies that spoil your appetite, but Soft Pretzels - Philly's #2 gift to America? Great idea.

The room was clean and spacious. The furniture recently re-upholstered (it seemed) in a tasteful way. There just was nothing to complain about. And yes, the parking was more than 1/2 the cost of the room, BUT YOU CAN PARK across the street for much less! Big deal. There are plenty of places to park that cost less. Please do not complain; my guess is that the parking is a concession and the prices are set by the concessionaire and not the hotel.

The hotel is not really in the center, but it is not more than a five minute walk to the "Center" which is three blocks away -to Market street.

Be aware that Sheraton seems to sell a block of rooms here to Priceline, so if that is in your travel radar, use it. You'll save a bundle and you can use that money to pay for the parking - and complain about it- if you want to. Or you can buy lots of cheese steaks!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 North 17th Street, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown hotel is near the Franklin Institute, the Convention Center, and many corporations. We have 757 guest rooms, free wifi, and 38 meeting rooms/58,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.