We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 North 17th Street, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #52 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Golden, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night when we attended a wedding at the Franklin Institute(a very pleasant walk through the park away). The room was very comfortable, had a great view. The service was excellent: they let us check in early so we could get to the scheduled wedding photos on time, and they mailed my husband's shoes to us which we had forgotten in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We wished you could have stayed longer also. It was our pleasure to have you check in early to get ready for the wedding. We are happy that the accommodations that we provided were comfortable. Our building gives us the luxury of providing great views. I wanted to let you know that it was our Lost and Found department’s pleasure to send out your husband’s shoes.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    499
    369
    187
    145
See reviews for
263
306
101
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Although there were renovations going on, we had a very pleasant weekend stay. Very comfortable bed! Most impressed with concierge service provided by Mary Mastrobuoni. Our trip would not have been as enjoyable without all her help. The tour bus she recommended was well worth using. Although we walked to most locations, the cab co. phone she gave us came in handy when a rain storm hit Saturday evening. Her knowledge of the city, and the maps she provided, allowed us to thouroughly enjoy our visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. I hope the tour you went on was very informative and enlightening. Our concierge staff is very impressive, and Mary definitely makes that possible. She is a South Philly girl at heart, and knows this city like the back of her hand. I the opportunity allows for another Philadelphia visit, just remember Mary and our team will be here for you.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The room was very nice. I was in a bit of a pickle, and the operator Sheila REALLY helped me out. She then proceeded to get me great info on how to get around the area in a separate phone call. Thanks Sheila and Sharaton!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. I hope everything went well with your situation. Thank you for recognizing Sheila for assisting you. I’m getting great comments on TripAdvisor about her. You are welcome to visit us at any time. Sheila and the rest of our team will be eager to assist you.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed at this property 4 times in the past two months and will continue staying here many more times in the future. While the hotel is not the most modern and could use some visual updating, my room has always been clean and the service that I've received is outstanding. In particular, Shawn, the morning club lounge attendant is very friendly and goes above and beyond expectations. I look forward to my visits in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We look forward to you staying with us in the future also. When you return, I hope you notice the changes that are being made. We are in the process of making the hotel more modern. The elevators and the public areas will be the first to be updated. Thank you for taking the time out to mention Shawn by name. I would like to say thank you for him.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was a nice hotel. When you first check-in there were bagels, pretzels with mustard, and beverages as a welcome. The indoor swimming pool and fitness center are adjacent to each other on the 3rd floor. We checked in on a Saturday and checked out on a Monday of September 15-17. The first thing I did after checking in was visit the Liberty bell and Independence hall. It is a must thing to do in Philly with rich history and the iconic bell representing American Independence in 1776. It was great to visit Independence hall where you learn about our founding fathers and see exactly where they met and discussed for hours the articles of confederation. A very cute city which looked to me like mid-town Manhattan (Little New York). I also enjoyed traveling on the transit system Septa. I was able to ride the bus and train to get to certain places like Old City. This is also a must thing to do in Philly as you find some of the most ancient street in America. I really enjoyed the Rock and Roll half-Philadelphia marathon and taking pictures of the "Rocky" statue by the Philadelphia Museum of Art. I enjoyed Philly and will definitely visit it again...just 90 miles from NYC.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We want all of our guest to have the same experience that you have had. It seems like you enjoyed our city to the fullest. There is a lot of history and culture in our fair city. We like to welcome large groups into our hotel. So when there is a large amount of arrivals we put out those items out as a welcome gift. If you have missed any attractions, please feel free to visit us again.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here with friends for a wedding at the Franklin museum, and we got such a great rate. I think it was half price. The location is perfect (about 4 blocks from the museum), the beds were incredibly comfy, and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: The view from the west side of building is the best (can see Logan square), the higher up the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope the wedding was a beautiful event. We are happy that your stay was enjoyable. The staff at the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown thanks you for being our guest, and your kind words. If you need rooms for any upcoming events or another wedding, please contact our Sales and Catering department. They can be reached at 215-448-2000.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went to Philadelphia earlier this week to visit art museums--the new Barnes, the Rodin, the Philadelphia Museum of Art. We selected this hotel because we wanted to use Starwood points and to be close to the museums. Within walking distance of all the museums, the Downtown Sheraton was perfect for our needs.

We did not have time to do much advance planning for the trip but after we arrived the hotel concierge, Mary Mastrobuoni, was a tremendous help. She immediately ordered our tickets for the Barnes (which we should have done more in advance), suggested really good restaurants nearby, and helped us figure out how to maximize our limited time. Many, many thanks to Mary.

We happily recommend this hotel for anyone with an agenda like ours. It would also be good for business meetings.

Room Tip: Our room on the 22nd floor had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMarcano, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you chose to use your starwood points at our location. We are centrally located to the museums that you have mentioned above. Mary takes pride in making sure our guests have everything they need to enjoy their visit to our fair city. Hopefully she can put together something fun and exciting for your next visit to Philadelphia.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 North 17th Street, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown hotel is near the Franklin Institute, the Convention Center, and many corporations. We have 757 guest rooms, free wifi, and 38 meeting rooms/58,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.