We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good price, service, and convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
frederick, maryland
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
461 helpful votes 461 helpful votes
“Very good price, service, and convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Still like this hotel! Good night's sleep. Clean modern rooms and bathrooms. Great Asian restaurant on the first floor. Good Starbucks on the same block. Very convenient in-and-out parking garage. Friendly service. Great location, close to other eateries and business destinations. Not a quaint highland inn for a romantic getaway but everything you need in a good hotel, especially suitable for business trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear fred200099,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide feeback about your experience with us. It is nice to hear that you had an opportunity to experience our restaurant and visit the surrounding area.

We hope to see you back soon!

SIncerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    180
    149
    51
    31
See reviews for
144
84
69
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location, a short walk to Drexel for son's college visit. My wife loved this hotel, and I'm thinking the other reviewers must be used to much "Ritzy-er" hotels. Being as how we usually go the hiway motel route, especially with a son in tow, this hotel was a very welcome upgrade. Our room was nicely clean, with plenty of amenities, roomy enough, with a very nice bathroom. Everything was a cut above other chain hotels we've stayed at lately; mints on pillows, ironing board & iron, bathrobe, a full supply of bathroom goodies, and a shaving/makeup mirror. Beds were comfy, heat/AC worked quietly, and the view was nice. The extra $ for the 20th floor club room was worth it. Was it an exclusive adult lounge with men in smoking jackets? Nah, it was families enjoying snacks in the evening & breakfast in the morning. We made good use of the snacks though, and the computer in the lounge, when our car broke down. (Note to front desk staffers: when a guest asks for a local garage, you should be able to do better than Google search, I can do that myself!) We were also able to hang out after checkout, with an offer to hold our bags as long as necessary while Pep Boys (3 blocks away) fixed our car. WIFI and TV both worked very well. Chinese Restaurant downstairs had tasty fried dumplings & a bar to unwind at. Parking garage was also worth it. While our car didn't stay long, we could have parked until 6PM the next day with no extra charge. A great value for what we got, and for being in a big city.

Room Tip: Watch the "big city" taxes when the bill comes due. The rate seemed too good to be true, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear enewellz,
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments about your recent experience with us during your visit to Drexel. The club lounge is a nice amenity to experience while with us. We hope that you will be back to stay with us for many more years if your son chooses Drexel! Thank you for the review!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This is my first stay in Philly at this hotel and its good in an average way. The decor is pretty standard as well as the actual rooms. I did not have any bad experiences with staff, restaurant, or concierge. I also can't report anything outstanding either. The area where hotel is located is close to universities and for the most part seems fairly nice. This is a hotel for a comfortable stay but not huge amount of amenities. I would stay again but just for convenience of location and price not because of wow factor.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear AbigailEliseGodfrey,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments of your recent experience with us. We truly appreciate your feedback. Your comments are valuable to us to see what we need to improve upon to "wow" our guests. We strive to provide our guests the best experience and exceed their expectations.

Please feel free to connect with us with any other comments at 215-387-8000, ext 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

If it is the location you are after, the Sheraton university city cannot be beat in terms of its proximity to upenn or Drexel. We stayed on the club level which was convenient for morning breakfast and afternoon snack. The room itself was average. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was small but adequate. The hotel clearly needs renovations. The gym was nice with state of the art equipment. For the same price, stay at the inn at penn. it is a much nicer and classier hotel. Stayed there last year and I believe it was recently renovated.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear bjkrieg,
We truly appreciate your comments and thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is nice to hear that you had the opportunity to experience the Club Lounge. The hotel will be undergoing renovations this summer and we hope you will have the opportunity to experience the changes that we are making.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location for UPenn , the front desk staff didn't explain the amenities it offers so know where everything is in the property. They need to renovate and need to clean the common areas that are very dirty. The club did not serve Sunday night , my family and 5 other people were waiting in the club for service and nothing . I had to call the front desk and they said no club Sunday night.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear donckd:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your comments about the lack of information and description of our amenities that our front office team failed to provide. We will certainly use your comments as a training tool for our team.

The hotel will also be undergoing a renovation this summer. We hope that you will come back and see the changes.

If you have any further questions or comments, please feel free to connect with us at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect when I found a rate of $109 at this hotel right at the U Penn Campus! But we were pleasantly surprised. Front desk was very friendly and helpful, the lobby was modern and tasteful, and the room was updated. Only issue we had was a difficult-to-flush toilet. The new Asian restaurant in the lobby was affordable and very good (and packed!) We were able to walk to U Penn admissions in under 10 minutes - perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear picktails:
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was there for a test...at the 3624 center...and i was a convenient place...i was 5 mins away from the center...restaurant is open at 6:30... Which is good if u r working early...the food was kinda good...people were nice....rooms are good...i asked for a king bed and got two queen...but overall it was good....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Fatima Adelaida E:
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in Philadelphia.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Address: 3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.