We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for upenn and Drexel, average hotel at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Sharon, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location for upenn and Drexel, average hotel at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

If it is the location you are after, the Sheraton university city cannot be beat in terms of its proximity to upenn or Drexel. We stayed on the club level which was convenient for morning breakfast and afternoon snack. The room itself was average. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was small but adequate. The hotel clearly needs renovations. The gym was nice with state of the art equipment. For the same price, stay at the inn at penn. it is a much nicer and classier hotel. Stayed there last year and I believe it was recently renovated.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear bjkrieg,
We truly appreciate your comments and thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is nice to hear that you had the opportunity to experience the Club Lounge. The hotel will be undergoing renovations this summer and we hope you will have the opportunity to experience the changes that we are making.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    179
    149
    51
    31
See reviews for
144
84
69
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location for UPenn , the front desk staff didn't explain the amenities it offers so know where everything is in the property. They need to renovate and need to clean the common areas that are very dirty. The club did not serve Sunday night , my family and 5 other people were waiting in the club for service and nothing . I had to call the front desk and they said no club Sunday night.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear donckd:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your comments about the lack of information and description of our amenities that our front office team failed to provide. We will certainly use your comments as a training tool for our team.

The hotel will also be undergoing a renovation this summer. We hope that you will come back and see the changes.

If you have any further questions or comments, please feel free to connect with us at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect when I found a rate of $109 at this hotel right at the U Penn Campus! But we were pleasantly surprised. Front desk was very friendly and helpful, the lobby was modern and tasteful, and the room was updated. Only issue we had was a difficult-to-flush toilet. The new Asian restaurant in the lobby was affordable and very good (and packed!) We were able to walk to U Penn admissions in under 10 minutes - perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear picktails:
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was there for a test...at the 3624 center...and i was a convenient place...i was 5 mins away from the center...restaurant is open at 6:30... Which is good if u r working early...the food was kinda good...people were nice....rooms are good...i asked for a king bed and got two queen...but overall it was good....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Fatima Adelaida E:
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in Philadelphia.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during a recent trip to visit a friend at UPenn. While the location can't be beat and the lobby area was warm and inviting, everything else was average at best. The bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was in complete disrepair (cracks in tile floor, peeling wallpaper, etc.) and the room was tiny! Check in was speedy, but I requested and paid for a refrigerator at check in (around 1:00 P.M.) and it was not delivered to my room until 11:00 P.M. after I called down to the desk about it two different times. Also, I didn't receive maid service the first day, and instead of apologizing and making it right, they found every way in the world to make it my fault. I didn't want any compensation, just a caring and apologetic attitude, but I didn't receive either one. Definitely not the worst hotel ever, but certainly not the best. I won't stay here again any time soon-- especially for the rate charged.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Amanda Leigh H,

Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. We want to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel. The condition of the guest room and lack of response from our team can leave a negative lasting impression that overshadows the rest of any trip. Rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Management Team to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future. We will be renovating our guest rooms this summer and hope that you will return to see the changes that we are making.

Please feel free to connect with us directly at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com with your contact details so we can discuss your experience further.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I loved this hotel because it was so close to everything and in a great area. Convenience store right across the street, restaurants, train station within blocks. Beds were very comfortable.

One problem is that the walls are very thin--unfortunately on our last night they put 4 party-friends in the room next door and it was basically like being in the same room with them--could hear everything they said, flushing toilets, music, etc. And even though we were on the 12th floor, the street noise was unbelievably loud.

Also, would be really nice if rooms came with a mini-fridge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear I_listen_to_the_wind,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay. University City is a great location and it is nice to hear that you experienced the restaurants and shops in the area. We do apologize for the noise issue that you encountered during your stay. We will be renovating our guest rooms over the summer and will certainly consider your comments and recommendations for the mini-fridge in the room. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We, my family of four, were visiting The University of Pennsylvania and this hotel seemed to be in the perfect location. It was a short walk from the university which was a plus, but everything in our room seemed to be broken the hotel was consistently disappointing. Our room had a very tight entryway and the closet which was in this small hall would mysteriously open on its own, preventing any easy or comfortable moving space. The shower was completely messed up and had a stream of water that spewed over the curtain, soaking the toilet paper, floor, towels, clothing, etc. They provided minimum amenities (just shampoo and soap) and the whole room had a tired, old feeling. The room did provide a comfortable bed and we generally slept well. The hotel's lobby restaurant was a terrible Chinese restaurant that transitioned into an American breakfast in the morning. Although the location was satisfactory and the bed was comfortable, the general experience was poor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear galois,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations nor our levels of serivce and quality. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your comments about the maintenance issues you encountered in your guestroom – we would like to be able to correct this immediately. Please feel free to contact our Guest Services Managers at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com so we can investigate this further, as we would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring. Our guest rooms will also be undergoing a full renovation this summer. We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you as our guest and show you this experience is not indicative of our hotel.

If you have any further questions or comments, please let us know.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Address: 3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.