We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but truly a University Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #56 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect location but truly a University Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Location is perfect for parents of students in Uni of Penn or Drexel University but doesn't live upto the Sheraton standard in other contries. Is a good, well maintained hotel and one can expect a peaceful stay but in no means is it a luxury stay as suggested by prices during college convocation times.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear vb329,
We appreciate you posting a review of our hotel. Our location is ideal for the universities and University City has many wonderful restaurants, shops and museums/theaters all in walking distance of the hotel. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you as our guest in the near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    118
    120
    39
    26
See reviews for
90
55
54
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando, Trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great location in University City... Stayed on the club floor (18th), and had no problem with my stay. The room is very clean and comfortable, and has everything available (flatscreen TV, super fast Wi-Fi, coffee maker) other than a small fridge which should have been included for the club room.

Parking is not a problem as the carpark is to the back (adjoining) to the hotel and costs $25 per day which isn't bad for a city garage price. This hotel has definitely lived up to its Sheraton name and I will recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in the University area in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A gem in University City. Lovely rooms, quiet, and great fitness center. Nice atrium for hanging out. Great Chinese restaurant with a DIM SUM brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. I shoudl go back for a weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Overall a good hotel. Very clean and good comfortable beds.
Room facilities are very good which includes coffee machine and TV.
Has the option that if you choose not to have the sheets changed one morning you can get a voucher for discount in the Chinese/Thai restaurant on the ground floor (serves excellent food). The Scottish gentleman on reception was particularly helpful with queries. (Thank you!)
The hotle is also near a tube station therefore only a few stops from the centre of the city.

However – hotel has very poor communication skills in regard to replying to e-mails and phone messages. Still waiting to hear from them since August in relation to an issue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

While this property might not be the most up do date in terms of furnishings, the people who work there are so nice and helpful it doesn't really matter what the hotel looks like. I arrived from an overseas flight sick as a dog and asked to be allowed to check in early. It was not a problem. Anything we needed from the front desk appeared very quickly, which was amazing because it was Thanksgiving. The bellman was very helpful with my luggage and all the employees were super nice. I would stay here again when in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Initially chosen for the location, 4 blocks from U Penn Hospital, would rather have been further away at a nicer place. Upon entry into lobby and checking in, was met with an individual that clearly did not get trained in proper customer service behavior. He was unfriendly, unhelpful, unkempt, and seemed annoyed that we were bothering him. The overall smell of the hotel is stale and old. The room was clean but as many have also noted, needs to be updated. No fridge in the room and the bathroom offers the absolute minimum in functionality. Would never stay here ever again and would encourage others to look elsewhere before staying at this hotel.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Philadelphia was a pit stop stay before my Delaware meeting. This Sheraton was near the Amtrak station, making it attractive to get to Wilmington. Proximity to transportation is the only attractive thing I can report. SERVICE: A delayed flight prompted me to call the hotel. Hotel Staff said if I used a credit card the reservation was good until midnight. I'm perplexed that me calling to verify I'm enroute doesn't trump a credit card and hold my room past 12 if needed. He verified my king bed request; 40 minutes later I was given two beds. ACCOMMODATIONS: The hotel is situated among University of Pennsylvania and other schools/medical centers and is probably geared to visiting parents or students. My room was very "tired" - old furniture, stained carpet and dirty walls. Bedside light didn't work; no convenient plug in for blackberry charger. Noise is a factor; I could hear guest in next room using the bathroom. Staff encountered in hallways were not friendly - which I've come to count on everywhere I go. Sorry Sheraton. You really miss the mark in University City.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton
Address: 3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.