We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay, staff much friendlier, still room to improve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #55 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Slingerlands, New York
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Second stay, staff much friendlier, still room to improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011 via mobile

The location is great, next to Penn and Drexel. Train station right out the door. Upgraded to club floor ($20 with elite status), both breakfast and pre dinner snacks a bit sparse for a club lounge. Housekeeping needs some improvement, left dirty dishes, did not make up the rollaway. Room service pretty much limited to oriental. Speaking of rollaways, still at $30, too much in my opinion for a pricey hotel. On the good side, clean, comfortable room and lobby. The hotel just lacks a "personality", hard to explain, but hopefully makes sense.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, again! We love that you saw an improvement with our service. We appreciate the feedback and do apologize for the items noted did not meet your expectations. Feedback such as yours helps us to continue to improve our service and amenities. We will review your comments with our Housekeeping and Food & Beverage teams. We hope to see you on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    126
    125
    41
    26
See reviews for
96
60
56
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed 1 night. Great location if you are visiting U Penn. Ok rooms. Friendly staff. Nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, ct
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at the University City Hotel for just one night. We usually stay in center city. Driving up to the hotel, the entrance was not easly seen and we drove right past it. There is no valet parking or anyone greeting guests. Check-in was quick, but the self-parking was a bit of a hassle as we had to drive around the hotel, come back into the lobby and then switch elevators. Self-parking was $20. (When we left the parking lot, the attendant took another $20 from my husband, who hadn't realized they had already charged our credit card. I had to go into the hotel and get a refund on the extra $20 from guest services). Anyway, the lobby was nicely decorated although quite small. It was busy with college students, visiting parents, and other guests. The hallway carpeting was not impressive and needed a cleaning and vacuuming. The room itself didn't seem to bad. It was neutrally decorated. Once we got into bed, the mattresses were soft and the bedding didn't smell clean. The hotel location needs some walking to any restaurants, etc. I would give the hotel a solid 3 star. It needs a little extra attention to cleaning, and an upgrade on the mattresses to be a 3.5 stars. If the price is right, I might stay again, but I prefer the center city location for walking, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

When we checked into the hotel, the reception person talked so fast and robot-like that I felt like I was on the receiving end of a SNL skit. I had to keep asking her to repeat herself, which she clearly found annoying. This hotel is rated "3-1/2 Star Deluxe" (whatever that means) and I would say it's a low 3 Star. Beds and bed linens were very nice and the bathroom was fine. But the lobby was dated, the staff unhelpful. Not totally rude, just unhelpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I am dedicated to my fitness training and hate skipping a workout when I travel. The fitness center at the Sheraton was great! I enjoyed running on the Life fitness treadmills...and the layout of the facility was spacious and clean. Thanks for providing a wonderful fitness center for your guests!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I took my daughter on a college visit tour and one of our stops was Philly. This Sheraton is great for visits specially to Penn, Drexel, and Villanova if you are on a tight schedule (24-48 hours max). If you plan to spend more time in Philly, it would probably make more sense to get a hotel in the Rittenhouse Sq. area which is very nice. The hotel staff was very helpful and you can keep acess to their parking garage until 5:00 pm the day you check out, if you still want to wander around Penn or Drexel campuses. Parking in this area can be very complicated and expensive...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Love this hotel. Outstanding location near the University of Pennsylvania and Drexel campuses. Gracious staff, excellent housekeeping, nicely sized rooms and a truly wonderful Chinese restaurant on the first floor. Member of the Starwood hotel group.

Room Tip: Call ahead 48 hours in advance and ask the front desk for your special preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Address: 3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.