We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a nice street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chestnut Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Hotel
8229 Germantown Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19118 (Chestnut Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Gélida, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel in a nice street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We've enjoyed two nights in this pretty hotel on the Chestnut hill, what a naif and lovely street (Germantown) at this part. It's close to the train station and the bus (23) stops on the door!
All the staff have been very friendly and polite and the owner is a kind man, worried about our comfort. Moreover, this street has a little and atractive shops, perfect for a quiet walk.
In conlusion, this is a perfect spot for visit Philly. I'll recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    50
    18
    15
    14
See reviews for
62
70
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very clean, the staff was very courteous and friendly, the room was immaculate. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area and will definitely be staying there again. The restaurant attached was very clean and the food was amazingly delicious. I have since gone to just the restaurant for lunch and dinner with my colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Chestnut Hill Hotel was a recommendation from a friend who lives in the area. Myself and several friends were traveling to Philadelphia from DC for a special fundraiser and our Philadelphia friend recommended that we stay here since it was close to the event. I'm so glad we did! Chestnut Hill Hotel is a charming boutique hotel, from their wide front porch, perfect for sitting outside on a nice day or evening, to the gorgeous and well decorated rooms. Two friends were in room 200 and we just gasped when we walked in! This is a LARGE corner double-bed room that included a small sitting area and large bathroom. All of the rooms have a traditional, yet modern decor. The wide post beds and window treatments were my absolute favorite. All the bathrooms also have white marble floors and counters and L'occitane bath products are in each bathroom.

The rate also includes a complimentary breakfast in the lobby sitting area. What a special treat to come downstairs to a place setting with fina china and fresh flowers---my kind of Sunday morning! The complimentary breakfast includes fruit, an assortment of cereals, teas, coffees, juices, muffins, bagles, and hot waffle maker.

I absolutely will return to the Chestnut Hill Hotel on my return trip to Philadelphia. The Germantown Ave. cobbled-stoned streets, historic homes, and quaint shops and cafes are absolutely perfect! I definitely have a new outlook on Philadelphia.

I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room 200 is a LARGE double-bed room. Highly recommend asking if this room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I spent almost 30 days at this hotel in July and August of 2013 . I was so pleased by all aspects of this place: the rooms are spacious and clean; the hotel is adjacent to a bar and restaurant; there is a nice small gym and business center. The staff was warm and helpful. Most of all the feel of the place was that of a boutique hotel---definitely not a chain hotel experience.
The neighborhood of Chestnut Hill is charming and this hotel sits on the main steet close to shops, reatuarants and train. Strolling Germantown Ave is fun and do not miss the bike and hiking trails by the Wissihicken, just a shore 5 minute drive rom the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've had guests stay here and they loved it. They have done a lot of renovations and it's a great hotel in a great location. Lots of restaurants, shops, and train all within walking distance. If you shop around online you can find a good rate.

The restaurant is pretty good too. It has nice outdoor seating, and two other levels inside. One in the pub and one in the basement. All are enjoyable and have nice atmosphere. The menu has a little variety, but on the small side. Prices are fair and service is adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Picked this hotel b/c of "best value" rating on TA and we weren't disappointed. Historic building with modern updates, huge bathroom, comfortable king bed and friendly service. About 30 minutes from downtown Philly in a nice neighborhood, with free parking in lot around the corner. Unmentioned by others is the excellent Chestnut Grill collocated on the property. A real winner for value, quality and service I'll review separately, but this isn't your run of the mill "hotel food." Wi-Fi access is free and easily accessible.

When we make it back to Philly we'll look no father than the Chestnut Hill Hotel. Only down side were perhaps the worst pillows I ever encountered in a $100+/night room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped by for two nights and was very happy. From a friendly check-in, to comfortable and clean rooms, great dining area and well positioned on Germantown Avenue. Parking at the rear and complimentary Wi-Fi. Alternative shops and safe to explore. Railway station close by to get into Philadelphia.

Room Tip: A back room to avoid any traffic noise on Germantown Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chestnut Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Hotel

Address: 8229 Germantown Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19118
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Chestnut Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale boutique hotel located in the Northwestern section of Philadelphia featuring 36 deluxe accommodations and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chestnut Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Hill Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Hotel Chestnut Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.