We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Winner Comes Through” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chestnut Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Chestnut Hill Hotel
8229 Germantown Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19118 (Chestnut Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Value Winner Comes Through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Picked this hotel b/c of "best value" rating on TA and we weren't disappointed. Historic building with modern updates, huge bathroom, comfortable king bed and friendly service. About 30 minutes from downtown Philly in a nice neighborhood, with free parking in lot around the corner. Unmentioned by others is the excellent Chestnut Grill collocated on the property. A real winner for value, quality and service I'll review separately, but this isn't your run of the mill "hotel food." Wi-Fi access is free and easily accessible.

When we make it back to Philly we'll look no father than the Chestnut Hill Hotel. Only down side were perhaps the worst pillows I ever encountered in a $100+/night room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    57
    20
    15
    14
See reviews for
76
83
27
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped by for two nights and was very happy. From a friendly check-in, to comfortable and clean rooms, great dining area and well positioned on Germantown Avenue. Parking at the rear and complimentary Wi-Fi. Alternative shops and safe to explore. Railway station close by to get into Philadelphia.

Room Tip: A back room to avoid any traffic noise on Germantown Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We rented the entire hotel for our sons wedding . the place was wonderful. All our guess raved about the accommodations, and many are talking about going back for a weekend. The staff was great, anything we needed they took care of in a timely manner and with a smile, I thank them for making the wedding weekend spectacular

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is definitely the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at, the rooms were clean, beautiful, and very rich in amenities. The staff was all very friendly, I felt right at home. The food at the restaurant is excellent too, and at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We selected the Chestnut Hill Hotel for our "home base" during our wedding weekend. We had 32 of the 36 rooms booked. The hotel couldn't not have been more helpful or accommodating. The hotel itself is beautiful and very clean, it offerers a few different room options - basic rooms, rooms with kitchenettes and suites. Its right in the middle of the Chestnut Hill shopping district and is a 3 block walk to the train that goes into downtown Philly. I set up the room blocks with the General Manager Tardu who was wonderful. He was very responsive to all of my questions and provided all kinds of information regarding the rooming lists, breakfast times, etc. All of our guests loved their stay and some of them are even thinking about going back again for a long weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved the Chestnut Hill Hotel, a historic inn located in the historic Chestnut Hill community of northwest Philadelphia. This boutique property has just 36 rooms, recently renovated along with the hotel. We stayed in the main building. Our room, though small, was beautifully furnished and decorated. Framed botanical prints added a nice touch. The bathroom was elegant, with marble, modern fixtures and lighting, fluffy towels and nice amenities. We also enjoyed the framed black-and-white historic photos of the area displayed in the main lobby and other common areas. The complimentary breakfast was served in an elegant room off the lobby. The food was excellent and enhanced by cloth tablecloths, floral china dishes and fresh flowers on each table. The servers were friendly, courteous, and efficient. A regular restaurant, the Chestnut Grill & Sidewalk Cafe, is onsite. The hotel is just nine miles northwest of Center City, but is a nice alternative for those who prefer a quieter experience in a tree-shaded neighborhood with an abundance of historic homes and other buildings. It's fun to explore the shops and restaurants near the hotel along historic Germantown Avenue, a cobblestone street where trolleys used to run. Parking is conveniently located behind the hotel next to a farmers market. Our only complaint was that our room was not cleaned one day. We had to request that the bathroom be tidied and fresh towels and soap brought. Assume this was an aberration because the hotel seemed well-managed overall. Also, there was some noise from a restaurant under construction at one end of the property, but that is temporary. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Chestnut Hill Hotel for 2 nights over a weekend. This hotel is a great place to stay. The hotel is very beautiful, quaint & clean! The neighborhood is a beautiful historic area and a safe area. The hotel staff was very friendly and made sure that everything was to our satisfaction. The hotel has a bar/restaurant on site that was very nice. Will DEFINATELY be going back here again to stay. Thank you Chestnut Hill Hotel for an amazing weekend!

Room Tip: Room on the 4th floor with king bed was very nice. Had 3 windows so a lot of light in the room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chestnut Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Hotel

Address: 8229 Germantown Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19118
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Chestnut Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale boutique hotel located in the Northwestern section of Philadelphia featuring 36 deluxe accommodations and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chestnut Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Hill Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Hotel Chestnut Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.