We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need a hotel at the airport....STAY HERE!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8900 Bartram Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IceWorks Skating Offer
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you need a hotel at the airport....STAY HERE!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My family and I stayed at this property for the 2013 Army/Navy game. Having been in Philly many years for the game, we decided this year to stay near the airport. I made the reservations in April and "touched base" with them on occassion to make sure we were all still a "go".

I have ZERO complaints about our stay there and I am SO glad I made our reservations here!! Be sure to call them before your arrival for their shuttle to pick you up from the airport. EVERY member of their staff (did you see that EVERY SINGLE ONE!) was kind, professional, and courteous. Even when we brought outside food in and were about to sit down in their food/bar area, the young lady POLITELY told me that we couldn't bring outside food in and sit in that area but we could go over to the other side of the lobby. I mean....she was so nice about it!!! THEN....with all the comings and goings, I left my small purse (you know those tiny ones you can only take in to NFL stadiums?) down in the lobby for HOURS...they called me to tell me and when I retrieved it.....EVERYTHING was still there.....i.d's....credit cards....cash. It had been discovered by a member of their staff who promptly turned it in to the reception area. WHAT A BLESSING!!!! Took the free shuttle back to the airport the next morning. SO CONVENIENT!!! This property has nicer rooms than the ones we had stayed in downtown before, is safe, and has a great staff!!!! One piece of advice for Army/Navy families: our mid was there with his car which we used to get to the stadium. I am not sure how you would get there and back without a vehicle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard G M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
That is such a great comment to leave. Thank you so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    90
    42
    17
    10
See reviews for
55
36
22
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel, after flying to PHL airport and before taking our connection flight.
The hotel is a few minutes' drive from the airport, and has a shuttle which is very convenient – although you should be aware that if you decide to take a taxi you might have a problem – since most of the airport taxi drivers don’t like to take such a short drive…

There is nothing much around the hotel, and if you want something to eat, you will find it difficult to find any good choice. There is a "bistro" in the hotel, but I didn’t think the limited opening hours, variety of food and prices being far from desirable. I decided to walk to a restaurant Ruby Tuesdays and they had reasonable prices for food. For example a beer is 7.50 and at Ruby Tuesdays it cost about 4.50.

They have a small gym and the pool area is nice

I believe most people will choose to stay at this hotel because of its proximity to the airport – and this is the reason I stayed there

I would say that this is an average Marriott hotel – size of room, cleaning, services. The Front desk people were excetionally nice and even wrote me a personalized note thanking me for staying. I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard G M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I missed our connection to San Fran by minutes, after flying standby for the next flight to San Francisco - along with a number of other people - we decided to re-book seats on a flight the following afternoon. I booked a room at this Courtyard Marriott near the airport via Orbitz, hoping we would be comfortable and be able to enjoy ourselves a bit since we wouldn't be able to truly start our trip as planned.

Needless to say we were VERY pleased to have happened upon this hotel! My first interaction was to call from the airport and ask about early check in (just before noon). Jennifer answered the phone, and was immediately helpful. Yes, they had a room available and yes, they had a shuttle that could come pick us up - thank you, Jennifer!

Jennifer is also who greeted us upon arrival to check in, and she was truly welcoming and helpful. I must add that all of the staff we interacted with were also friendly and helpful. The only regret I had was that I had not packed our bathing suits - they have an indoor pool!

Room Tip: Their in hotel cafe was great! If you like fresh salads, I recommend the spinach, as well as the kal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard G M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We will definitely commend Jennifer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This Courtyard location is great for anyone taking a flight out of Philadelphia International Airport. We stayed here one night prior to an early morning flight. We parked our car in their lot and had the shuttle bus take us to the airport and pick us up upon our return. It's about a 10 minute ride to the airport.
Our room was clean and quiet. We ate a casual dinner in the lobby restaurant. It was also very good. There is a moderate charge for leaving your car in their lot but it is less than other options. They also have security at this location. Staff members were outstanding!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard G M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed here one night because it was close to the airport. I was on business in the state and needed a place near the airport the night before my flight home. I use Marriott on a regular basis due to business. This one is extraordinarily busy/obviously popular. The lobby was packed during the evening hours.
My room was standard but in need of a really good cleaning; the carpet was worn, the heating unit had some sort of wires hanging out of the top of it. The toilet had trouble flushing and the sink would gurgle and black stuff backed up out of it all on its own. The Bistro has a Happy Hour so appetizers and drinks were a pretty normal price. The shuttle runs every half hour so that's a bonus. For all the people, the room was pretty quiet. I might try the Renaissance next time, but this is ok for one night if you don't have high expectations.
This is room #200, so make sure you don't get that one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard G M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest feedback. I am happy to announce that we have a rooms renovation scheduled for early 2014. Many of your observations will be handled at that time. We hope that your last experience will not keep you from trying us again in the future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliquippa, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I came into Philadelphia from Pittsburgh to purchase a motorcycle. We chose this hotel as it was close to the airport. I was so thrilled that we selected the Courtyard. The rooms were extremely clean and our housekeeper had left us a little note telling us to enjoy our stay. That was a nice little touch. The front desk staff was just as friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is planning on staying in the PHL area. You will not be disappointed. Thank you again PHL A/P Courtyard, we totally enjoyed our stay with you!!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor on the courtyard side. Enjoyable patio sitting you can walk to out of your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard G M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments! Actually, my Assistant General Manager remembers you in great detail and still thinks you are the best wife for getting the motorcycle for him: "Wife of the Year" indeed. Hopefully, you will come back and see us soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel was very helpful to our family, we had an early flight the next morning. We were able to get a good night's sleep and then catch the shuttle to our terminal the next morning.

We watched football in the lounge area for a bit before retiring for the night, it was a relaxing place to be.
Our beds were comfortable and we had no idea we were at an airport hotel, it was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard G M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are happy that you were able to relax here. Please do come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport

Address: 8900 Bartram Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19153
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Philadelphia Airport. Our newly renovated rooms are less than 2 miles from Philadelphia International Airport (PHL), accessible via our complimentary shuttle. Stay in spacious suites that are a short drive from Center City Philadelphia and downtown Philly. Our open lobby with complimentary Wi-Fi allows you to switch seamlessly from work to relaxation and back. Easily access the latest news, weather and airport conditions via the GoBoard in the lobby at our Essington, PA, hotel. Dine in style at our on-site PHL restaurant, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R)., Serving healthy food and Starbucks(R) drinks in the morning and hearty meals and cocktails in the evening. Our newly renovated Philadelphia accommodations feature luxury Marriott bedding and intuitive work spaces that integrate technology. Two purpose-built meeting rooms are ideal for small conferences or events. Open all doors to productivity when you stay in our hotel near the Philadelphia airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Philadelphia Airport Hotel Philadelphia
Courtyard Philadelphia Airport
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.