We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a grand old building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt at The Bellevue to your Saves list
Hyatt at The Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Mount laurel
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Such a grand old building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here early June for a little weekend getaway in the city. The friendliness and promptness of the staff is wonderful. The location is in the heart of the theater district with great restaurants around every corner. Absolutely love the architecture of the building, especially on the 19th floor home of a cafe', bar and the restaurant XIX. We had a king room on the 16th floor that was very spacious and the bed was sooooo comfortable. Price was reasonable for the city. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1620 is large, very comfortable but is on the street side, noise was just slightly annoying
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    188
    82
    41
    24
See reviews for
92
158
45
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los altos, ca, usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Love the lobby, and the beautiful xix dining room, especially nice buffet breakfast.
Very good front desk and helpful staff. Rooms very clean and relatively large.
Seniors take note: public xport within Philly is free, and the rail airport line is $1.
Hyatt is good location for local bus and also local subway. Theaters and music hall
very close. Near to Macy's and downtown center. Had a beautiful stay for
5 days and enjoyed touring the city. Many fine restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed off the main street, in the rear with exceptionally quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend in one of the suites facing the inner courtyard. The room was large, modern and well appointed. The dinning room on the 19th floor has great views and is nice location for breakfast. There is also a fun bar/lounge located adjacent. Hotel is located near Walnut St. for shopping and many dining options. The Hyatt has an agreement with the Health Club next door for guest to use. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade to the Stanton suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I'd give 5 stars but the standard rooms need some freshening up. Renovations were due this summer but have been put off until fall or early winter. Not stopping my wife and I to go in August, but we are upgrading to the newly renovated suites. The Hyatt bought an older hotel of what I consider the great age of American architecture which can't be copied these days; too costly. Kinda' neat to be a Hyatt in a building such as that, and in the middle of a fun spot in Philadelphia. Chris' Jazz Café, Philadelphia Oyster House, opera house and lots of other eateries and stores within easy walking distance. Beautiful old building with the normal 'top notch' Hyatt food, service and staff.

Room Tip: Rooms aren't "that" bad but ask if renovations have been done when making a reservatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My family and I spent a nice evening at the Hyatt at the Bellevue just before my husband was to receive a graduate degree at the University of Pennsylvania. From the time we arrived, we were greeted at the car and received a warm welcome at the front desk. The reception area may be small, but we were immediately check-in with no wait. We came to our room and found that we had a lot of space to spread out things and the room and bathroom were very clean. Though the hotel is centrally located to several restaurants (and also has its own restaurant), my daughter wasn't feeling well, so we ordered room service. When room service arrived, the table was nicely set up and we enjoyed a very lovely and delicious meal inside the room.

Once we finished our dinner, we received another knock on the door & found that the front desk agent had sent complimentary dessert and a bottle of sparkling wine for us to celebrate the graduation event! I remember mentioning the occasion when I checked in, but didn't expect for him to remember or to send anything (thanks Gary!) The kids were so happy to see the dessert (and me the wine) - it made the entire trip more special.

The next morning, I went to work out at the gym connected to the hotel (Bellevue Sports Club) - it is an excellent work out facility with tons of equipment, an indoor track(!), pool, and adult hot tubs. The pool is primarily for adults and primarily for lap swimming, but there are some hours available for children to swim (though mine did not).

Lastly, having a starbucks in the building is a nice perk.

I would strongly recommend this hotel - we all had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We recently stayed at your hotel. We had two connecting rooms. Everything was clean and in working order. We had a fantastic time. Your hotel is centrally located so it was very convenient and we didn't need to use our car until it was time to go home. We are looking forward to going back to your hotel soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel from May 13-May 14 during a business trip. I realized the day after I checked out that I left a book and iPad in the room that were together when I took them out of my carry on bag. Ironically, the room service folks found my book but not my iPad. I don't blame them for me losing my iPad but when someone is missing 2 items that were together and the maid found the $5 book and not the $500 iPad you have to be suspicious, but it seemed like the hotel thought nothing at all of the matter.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt at The Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt at The Bellevue

Address: 200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt at The Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificently restored historic National Landmark, the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia's business, restaurant, shopping and theatre districts. Featuring 172 spacious guest rooms, this historic luxury property appeal to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt at The Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Philadelphia
Park Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt at The Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.