We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“19 can be great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt at The Bellevue to your Saves list
Hyatt at The Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Southampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“19 can be great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

19 on top the Bellevue great for Thanksgiving, Mothers day and Sunday brunch. Had a large wedding there and the private brunch next day was unimpressive and not worth what was charged.
Left us with mixed feelings

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    188
    80
    41
    24
See reviews for
92
157
45
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The room I had was large but dated. The location is very central to the sites of Philadelphia.
The elevators are insufficient to handle the guests and events...wait time can be up to 5 minutes. Service was very accommodating.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a renovated / updated room....on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed in July 2013. This older hotel was very charming and a great way to feel the spirit of Philly. In a great area if you're able to walk. Not too far from all the historic places (Liberty Bell, Ind. Hall, etc). Nice, safe, area at night. Enough bars around so you won't have to be a "bar repeater" if looking to get out and about. Hotel staff was very friendly. There was a wedding there and the bride's mother was the only rude person we encountered all weekend in the entire city! The XIX restaurant was neat as we got a table on a balcony. Great place for an anniversary dinner!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg MD USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We checked in in the middle of the afternoon on a Saturday. Luckily, we were able to go to the lower level where there are a variety of food and sandwich.
Our room was spacious and nicely furnished. Our window looked out over the indoor courtyard. Our Saturday night function was in a meeting room on the top floor of the hotel. The view was spectacular, especially after the sun went down. One could go out on the terrace and have great views of the city. The meeting room also had gigantic half moon windows with ornate trim and curtains. Something from the early twentieth century.
The bed was comfortable and we got a good nights rest. Sunday breakfast buffet was good with one exception. The bagels were stale. Ironically, we stayed at the Hyatt in New Haven a few months earlier and had the same complaint. Hyatt needs a bagel master.
Overall, a great hotel and a great stay. One recommendation. We drove to the hotel. We drove on Locust Street and turned left on Broad Street. We couldn't find the place to pull in and unload our luggage. After a trip to the lobby, we saw that we could make a right turn into a small driveway. If there was a sign, we didn't see it. Overall, a great stay and a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask about the view. We had a view of the interior courtyard. That, or one of Broad Street would be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Georgia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
478 helpful votes 478 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This could be Philadelphia’s best hotel--with some vision, attention to detail, and an infusion of renovation money. Until those things happen, Hyatt at The Bellevue suffers from a baffling amount of neglect. Still, if you cut the hotel slack--or get a good price here, you are likely to enjoy this Philadelphia landmark.

Of course, for many of the past 110 years, this hotel was Philadelphia’s best. Then it was The Bellevue-Stratford, and until the mid 1970s, this is where Presidents and celebrities stayed when in Philadelphia. After Legionnaires’ Disease closed the hotel in 1976, any number of managers took over--Cunard Cruise Line, Fairmont, Westin--until finally the hotel got carved up into retail, office space and a top level boutique hotel managed as a Park Hyatt.

Thing is, much of the hotel hasn’t changed a great deal since it opened in the 1990s as a Park Hyatt. . .at least as far as the hallways and rooms go. (In fact, the last time I stayed here I watched the 2000 Bush-Gore presidential debate in my room. Decor, other than a flat screen TV, is still largely the same. . .) The style is most kindly referred to as “Grandma’s living room”. That said, things are in fairly good shape, and given the age of the building, the dated decor sort of fits. However, this is all rather erratic. My room, 1216, wasn’t any different from the mid 1990s Park Hyatt. 1217 next door had been completely renovated. Hallways are grand, but dated. But the public areas on the 19th floor have been updated beautifully (though tablecloths should come back to the dining room, which is a gorgeous space).

Clearly, the owners’ failure to keep this hotel updated led to the rebranding of the hotel from a Park Hyatt to a Hyatt (if you have stayed in Chicago, or Tokyo, or Buenos Aires at a Park Hyatt, you realize this hotel--however quaint--just isn’t in the same league). Torn hallway carpeting and beat-up elevators aren't acceptable in any hotel, frankly.


That said, there are many things to recommend this hotel:

--The location at Broad and Walnut is the most central in the city. There are several upscale shops in the building lobby, including Tiffany. And the subway is very convenient.

--The public spaces are lovely, and worth visiting. And the Grand Ballroom is The place for a formal Philadelphia wedding.

--One of the best gyms in the city, The Sporting Club, is connected to the hotel by skybridge, and available to hotel guests free of charge. If you regularly workout/lift, this is a great amenity.

In my instance, I got this hotel room at $81 on Priceline, and that constitutes quite a bargain.

So my advice. . .sure, stay here. Just don’t pay too much. And think about just how wonderful this hotel could be if the owners of the hotel gave it the attention it deserves.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have been renovated. Angle to get one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a wedding this weekend and Hyatt at The Bellevue was the hotel of choice. Great location as the wedding was held at the Kimmel Center just down the block with several functions at the hotel. First the good. The Sunday brunch was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and the bed good. Since this is considered a premier hotel we had high expectations. Didn't expect the bath towels to be almost threadbare...all of them. Add to that the fact that the water never really got hot in the shower or sink (shaving wasn't all that pleasant), the sink backed up, and the toilet seat was loose....well these types of experiences should not be part of a not inexpensive stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently on a business trip and had a positive experience. The location is central, with easy access to the cultural venues, Rittenhouse Square, and a tremendous variety of restaurants. It's in a safe neighborhood.

The front desk and cleaning staff were extremely friendly and helpful. When I asked about wi-fi, the front desk staff told me that there's a daily charge, but that it would be free if I belonged to the Hyatt frequent customer program. She signed me up on the spot without my having to fill out or sign any forms. My room with two queens was huge, about double the size of most hotel rooms with two beds. It was quiet, except for occasional sirens that I could hear through the windows (I was on the 14th floor).The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the water pressure was excellent, and the water didn't take long to get hot. The bathroom was modern-looking and clean. The closet was about 4 feet wide and had standard wooden hangers (not those funky hangers that latch onto special hooks). The room did not have a safe, but had a small refrigerator. The padding on the ironing board was miserably thin and the diamond pattern of the board itself kept coming through onto my clothes. The iron worked great. The large, flat-screen TV was excellent. I noticed that one of the bulbs on one of the sconces and the bulb in the make-up mirror were burned out.

The carpeting in the hallways was a bit dated and in need of cleaning. We had several meals as part of our business meeting. The food at every meal was superb. I also heard that the food in the XIX restaurant was very good too.

I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt at The Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt at The Bellevue

Address: 200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#30 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt at The Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificently restored historic National Landmark, the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia's business, restaurant, shopping and theatre districts. Featuring 172 spacious guest rooms, this historic luxury property appeal to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt at The Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Philadelphia
Park Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt at The Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.