We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - huge suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt at The Bellevue to your Saves list
Hyatt at The Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #39 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
San Antonio,TX
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great location - huge suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed past weekend with wife and 2 daughters in suite. Large living room with sofa bed and separate bedroom.
Clean, well maintained. Valet parking ($38/night). Great location on Broad, easy walk to Rittenhouse square, SEPTA, tons of restaurants and night life.
Easy check in, cordial staff, everything was good.
Would stay again on next trip to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am so glad you enjoyed you room, the service from our team and that our location met your needs. We do hope that if your travels bring you back to Philadelphia you will consider giving us a second opportunity to provide you the level of service that Hyatt pride's itself on.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    205
    91
    41
    26
See reviews for
99
173
49
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am checking out of the Bellevue and moving over to the Palomar after spending an entire evening listening to rowdy wedding guests yelling and trampling through the hallways until 1:00 AM. Called the front desk and they did send security up right away who told me they were trying to figure out where the shouting was coming from( it sounded like it was coming from the elevator shaft). My two children got absolutely no sleep and that destroyed our plans to get an early start today. Plus the room we were in had no windows, so it was like being in a cave. On the plus side, everyone was pleasant, the beds were comfortable, even though we got no sleep and the room was decorated nicely. Lobby was small . Location is good, we were able to walk to Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. If you are traveling with kids or just like to sleep at night, I would look elsewhere . There are plenty of hotels in Philly less expensive than this .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I just hosted our wedding at the Hyatt at the Bellevue and it was fab-u-lous. We stayed in a refurbished business suite for the first part of the week leading up to the wedding, and then moved to a refurbished Bellevue Suite for the wedding weekend. Both rooms were lovely (although, nothing holds a candle to that suite!!!).

Guests are still telling us how lovely they found the Conservatory (cocktail hour) and Rose Garden Ballroom (reception) and how delicious the food was--from the hors d'oeuvres to the first course and entree selections.

As beautiful as the hotel is, and as lovely as it was to take pictures and celebrate in, the main reason I'm writing this review was the service: it was impeccable. Our wedding coordinator (Amy Handlin), the Banquet Captain, and the rest of the Hyatt staff was amazing. Everyone was very accommodating and truly went of out his/her way to make things easier for us...One bellhop even pushed a luggage rack down the street to the Doubletree to help us deliver our welcome bags to the other hotel where we had a room block...talk about going above and beyond!

Room Tip: Try the Bellevue Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't ask for a better location for a weekend trip to Philly. Parking was right next door and easy in and out. Yup, the wallpaper and the carpets kind of screamed 1968, but the friendliness of the staff more than made up for the un-trendy decor. Peace and quiet -- yes. Good bed and bathroom -- yes and yes. Fast internet -- yes (free to Hyatt members). Only complaint -- how about upgrading the elevators and get them up to, oh I don't know, 1940's speed or so?

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and received the level of service that Hyatt pride's itself on. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The wedding was fantastic and so was the reception. The timing between different traditions and the timing when the food came out was done with great precision. Food was fantastic. The staff worked very hard to make everything turn out right and on time

Room Tip: Go with what you want if its in your budget. The Bellevue Suites have large windows on the 2 walls w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are so pleased that you had a great experience and that our team made the event special. We hope that next time your travels bring you to Philly you will stay with us once again.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful, the architecture, the size of the rooms, the light. The reservation process had significant problems that did not go away during our visit. The front desk check in was also problematic. The people smiled and then didn't do what they promised. We were asking for two reservations each for consecutive nights to be put together. Doesn't sound so difficult but apparently it was beyond the ability of multiple service people over the phone and in person. We were locked out of our room after an event on Saturday night in the late evening that required us to go to the front desk to get a new key. When notifying the front desk of the television not working, the comment from the service person was "Oh, electronics...."

Room Tip: The rooms were lovely but I would go to a different hotel to choose a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here last weekend after visiting a friend in West Chester, PA. Location was superb, but it turns out everything in philly on Saturday closes early! We ended up going to Monk's cafe for drinks and belgium food which was awesome because it was so close to the hotel. After several drinks we were able to stumble a few blocks back to the hotel.

Only advice for the hotel is that the staff needs to be more informed. We were told the pool closes at 11pm and that would be awkward for us to be in our bathing suit wandering to a closed pool.

Room was decent size, bathroom was an odd design, but spacious. The only downside was that the pool closed early (7pm) so we were not able to enjoy it. Other than that, I had a great night sleep (love Hyatt's bed). We were also on the upper floors so it was nice and quiet. Overall had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt at The Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt at The Bellevue

Address: 200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt at The Bellevue 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificently restored historic National Landmark, the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia's business, restaurant, shopping and theatre districts. Featuring 172 spacious guest rooms, this historic luxury property appeal to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt at The Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Philadelphia
Park Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt at The Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.