We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time for a Renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Save Saved
You added Hyatt at The Bellevue to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt at The Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #28 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Time for a Renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Hyatt is finally falling my list of favorite places to stay in Philly. The rooms are tired with older furniture, cracked sills and door jams, peeling wallpaper, you know, old hotel things. Also, staff seems tired. But for Pavel, who went way out of his way to satisfy us, rest of front desk staff had an attitude of quiet resignation. "Sorry, nothing we can do..." However, Pavel got it done. We will not stay there again until it gets a facelift. The Four Seasons is a better choice for now.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are disappointed to hear that our staff did not treat you as you deserved. We are pleased that Pavel exceeded your expectations, but you never should have felt anything less than cared for and valued while staying at our property. I apologize that you stay did not meet your expectations and I thank you for taking the time to make us aware of our short comings, as this is how we improve ourselves.

I wanted to take a moment to inform you that last year we did renovate 40 of our guest rooms. We will complete the remaining of our guest rooms, corridors, elevators and lobby at the end of this year into the beginning of next year. I understand that this does not improve your previous stay, but I do hope that knowing this, if your travels bring you back to Philadelphia, you will consider giving us a second opportunity to provide you the level of service Hyatt pride's itself on.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    173
    75
    36
    19
See reviews for
82
144
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located in the heart of the city, this grand old lady still has the charm from yesteryear. The rooms are spacious and the hallways still have a classy look to them. There is a Starbucks located in the front of the property which made it very convenient to get my morning buzz.

Room Tip: Request high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback of your recent visit with us on trip advisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the historic charm of our hotel. We have a lot of pride in our property and are so glad that you had a pleasant stay.

Please come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
christine.nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The location is great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The lower level food court is a real convenience when you are in a hurry. The bar on the top floor has great views of Philly at night. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent a night at the Hyatt at the Bellevue. Devine location, huge, lovely room. Yummy breakfast served beautifully. In general, old world charm. Would definitely go back. Philadelphia is a wonderful city - lots to do, and many good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location. Our room with 2 queen beds was HUGE!! The room was clean, comfy and had a great feel to it. The front desk has various chandeliers which are beautiful. The lower level of the hotel has a varied food court. Near the hotel are A+ restaurants as well. Definitely will stay again when visiting Philly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a beautiful old hotel right in downtown close to most everything. The lobby and public areas are very nice with marble, etc. as one would expect from an older building. The rooms are spacious and clean, if somewhat dated (renovations are soon to be done). Lobby bar on the 19th floor is very nice with an excellent view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of shopping,sightseeing,yogurt shops,and the hotel itself is attached to shopping .
The room had every but a stocked refrigerator.Quiet,easy to sleep. Nor The best pillows but okay.
My favorite part was the front desk
staff,the valet parking, gym,food. Very good. I booked he Room through Hotwire and they had no attitude about that at all.When I didn't need the second night I had booked,they didn't even charge me.When I couldn't find my credit card when I arrived and had to all home for a card and authorization from my husband,they helped me and never embarrassed me. I was there for a quick extremely stressful low budget film shoot, and I was nervous as I'd never shot with this company before.This Hyatt helped me feel confident, comfortable and helped me have a successful trip. Special thanks to Adrienne.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regading your recent visit with us. I am so glad to hear that our staff made you feel comfortable and at home during a stressful time for you. I hope the film shoot went well and best of luck to you in the future.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
Christine.Nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt at The Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt at The Bellevue

Address: 200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt at The Bellevue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificently restored historic National Landmark, the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia's business, restaurant, shopping and theatre districts. Featuring 172 spacious guest rooms, this historic luxury property appeal to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere, Agoda and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt at The Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Philadelphia
Park Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt at The Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;