We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place with minor flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Save Saved
You added Hyatt at The Bellevue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt at The Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #27 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“great place with minor flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

First the good news: This old hotel has been beautifully restored and feels grand. The chair lift into the hotel was quiet and easy to operate with staff always prompt and helpful. Our room was clean, had a spectacular view, and was very spacious, making it perfect for a wheelchair user like me. The doorways were wide and doors easy to manage. Towels and toiletries were thoughtfully placed within reach in the bathroom which was also very large, giving me plenty of turning radius for the chair. I loved the sink which was both accessible and included lovely counter space. The adjoining sports club to which we had free access is fabulous with a full range of free weights and machines accessible for wheelchairs. The staff was helpful and accomodating. I especially loved the arm bicycle. The Pagano's Cafe served healthy and yummy food.
Now the bad news: Even though advertized as an ADA room with tub, the bathroom inexplicably had no grab bars. The closet only had a high bar that was hard to reach. We could also hear all the hall noises. That's it--everything else about this hotel is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and staff accomodating to your needs. We apologize that the lack of a grab bar in your shower caused you difficulties. Our hotel will be undergoing renovations toward the end of this year and we will certainly consider your feedback when redesigning our ADA rooms.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to host you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
Christine.Nerone@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    153
    71
    34
    18
See reviews for
69
129
41
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haymarket, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Service at this Hyatt is bar-none, the best. From the moment you check in to the minute you leave, the exceptional staff is always wanting to help out and make your stay the best ever. Thanks especially to Ms. Nerone for making this a great trip for me an the family while visiting Philadelphia! Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

When you visit Philadelphia, you can't help but be struck by the Second Empire-style architecture. From the art museum to city hall, it's everywhere. The Hyatt offers that same sense of grandeur in this hotel. Now, don't get me wrong--it's an old building. It has plaster walls and a I'm-visiting-my-rich-grandfather tone on the hotel floors and in the rooms but the halls are VERY wide and the rooms have high ceilings and cool views. Of the inside of the building. Odd, but unique. [There is an area in the center of the building that offers brunch and catering. My room looked down on this area.] The building has a aristocratic air to the main lobby and front entrance. And there is a Starbucks in the downstairs area, across from The Palm if you are a java junkie like me.

Upsides:
- in the heart of downtown = cheap cab rides
- spacious rooms
- Starbucks and eating/drinking options inside the building
- comfy beds
- good value

Downsides:
- slightly tired décor
- slightly pretentious people stay here
- I'm not über-wealthy (see above)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Philadelphia. Our city and our hotel pride ourselves on the grandeur of our buildings, we are so glad that you appreciate our history. We hope that you will come visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
Director of Rooms
Christine.Nerone@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

the staff is helpful and warm, the building is in a grand old style, the beds are excellent, the location is unbeatable for the price the buffet breakfast is also a great value set in a pretty room with stunning views, the connecting gym is better than most

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback from your recent visit with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the great breakfast in XIX. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
Christine.Nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Staff helped with any needs and questions room was clean and comfortable also location will meet any needs for a stay in philly near city hall had shopping and food of all types to choose from will stay here next and any time we visit philly again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback you gave regarding your recent visit with us. We are very proud of our hotel and are glad that you experienced the service that Hyatt prides itself on. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
Christine.Nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed one night in February. Service was excellent.Full menu breakfast upstairs on top floor came with with the room reservation. Nice restaurant and great waiting service. Hotel is beautiful and historic but could use some renovations. For being a Hyatt, I felt it was a little below standard. Ripped carpeting in hallway outside of our room and a few of the bathroom fixtures were outdated and broken. Great price and great location.

Room Tip: Ask for an open city view or you might be facing building next to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We are glad that you were able to experience the level of service that Hyatt pride's itself on and enjoy one of the best restaurants in Philadelphia. We want to inform you that our hotel has renovated 40 of our guest rooms within the last year, we will be completing the rest of the hotel, which included guest rooms, corridors, lobby and elevators at the end of this year into 2014. We understand that our property is beginning to show it's age and are taking action to improve it.

We hope that you will come visit us again very soon here in Philly.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
Christine.Nerone@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is a landmark for downtown Philly. Wanted to stay there as a special birthday getaway weekend with my daughter. I was so excited - but then, when checked in started to see the 2 sides of this hotel. One of grandeur and one of poor repair. The elevator had buttons missing, dirty carpet,etc. Our room was shabby with the desk chair falling apart, nicks and dents on furniture and overall like an old room in a 3 star hotel. When jack hammering didn't stop at 1:30am outside, the hotel staff did move us at our request. We ended up with a huge studio apartment to the inside of the hotel. The decor was ultra 'mod'. The rest of the stay was 'saved'. However, I have to say this hotel has 2 sides of it for sure. I feel that only some get to stay at the 'good' part based on what they pay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt at The Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt at The Bellevue

Also Known As:
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel
Park Hyatt Bellevue
Hyatt Philadelphia
Park Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt
Address: 200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt at The Bellevue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificently restored historic National Landmark, the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia's business, restaurant, shopping and theatre districts. Featuring 172 spacious guest rooms, this historic luxury property appeal to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt at The Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt at The Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.