We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Save Saved
You added Hyatt at The Bellevue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt at The Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #28 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel is beautiful and elegant, rooms have high ceilings, period decorations. I had a small incident there, reported to the front desk, the hotel immediately took care of remedial measures, and even delivered a bottle of red wine. Front desk staff were overall extremely polite and attentive. Even with a small incident, it was a positive experience. After staying at so many hotels, Hyatts, Omnis, Ws, one appreciates the fact that there are things the hotel has little control of, but what they have control over, they strive for the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate the compliment to our staff and how they managed the incident you experienced. We hope that you will come visit us in Philadelphia again very soon.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
Christine.Nerone@Hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    173
    76
    36
    19
See reviews for
82
144
42
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Beautiful old building with the nicest staff!! Adrian at the front desk out did herself! At check in i mentioned that it was our second anniversary and that we came to celebrate. after going out for dinner upon returning to the room there was a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with a handwritten letter!!!!!! The club on the 19th floor was great as was the valet parking. Location is perfect too. great shopping down the block.. Cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a short stay at the Hyatt at the Bellevue. Very impressive renovation!! Stayed in a huge Bellevue Suite, which was large enough to comfortably fit 2 rollaways right next to the King bed. Perfect for families. Modern furnishings and nicely upgraded bathroom. I will post pics. Best thing about this hotel is its association with Hyatt. Booked and upgraded using a Gold Passport award. Negotiating the paid upgrade was a cinch. Clear policies, friendly staff. Absolutely no complaints. Well done Hyatt!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington,kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked with Priceline for $70/night and certainly the room was large with high ceilings, a comfortable bed and nice old classic hotel feeling with a good location and nice staff at check-in. The management seems to be a little lax, however, when all the makings for complimentary room coffee are there except the actual coffee maker! A waste of my time searching for it and another person couldn't find it either. In the bathroom, the shower curtain barely reached more than 1/2" below the top lip of the tub, making it a challenge to avoid a large puddle on the floor unless one angled the shower head toward the wall rather than in the center. More time wasted using the a towel to dry up the water on the floor. Still, I would book again if I could get a room through Priceline but I wouldn't pay the going rate. I stayed at this hotel when it was a Park Hyatt and I remember all the details as working much better back then.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you fo taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. We would like to apologize for the poor condition of the room, including the lack of a coffee maker and the length of the shower curtain. We appreciate your feedback as this is how we improve our hotel. I do hope that if given an opportunity to visit Philadelphia again you will consider our property and give us an opportunity to provide you the level of service Hyatt prides itself on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked a renovated "suite" to avoid the peeling wallpaper and chipped paint cited in other reviews. Our 12th floor "suite" with a balcony faced the atrium-- sounded great when we booked. Actually, the balcony was level with the floor of the dimly lit large space with no plants or decor, but with foot traffic and haphazardly placed chairs yielding no privacy. The black shades on the windows are necessary for any privacy, but make the room even darker. We glimpsed into a room facing the street, which looked brighter, but not updated.
And although the room wewere in looked renovated and was advertised as allergy friendly, the dust mites must be rampant because I had a severe allergic reaction whenever I entered the room and took lots of allergy medication to be able to sleep. The elevators are impossibly slow.
Do not be swayed by the advertisement of an old and gracious hotel. The current lobby is one quarter of the size it used to be with no where to gather and,again, little light. What used to be the elegant hotel lobby, is now a municipal lobby with a food court and Starbucks. The crystal chandeliers from a time gone by remain near the Starbucks.
We had tickets to theMummers parade, we certainly could not have seen it from our window.
The restaurant on the 19th floor is nice and the Captain, Wilmer,personifies the best of customer service. Visit the former lobby, but if you are averse to allergic reactions and dreary rooms, find another hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the atrium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us and had an allergic reaction to dust in the room. I do hope that you will consider giving us a second opportunity to come visit us, we do have newly renovated rooms that face the outside which will give you more light. I encourage you to reach out to me via the hotel, I would like to offer my personal apologies to you and discuss your concerns further.

Sincerely,
Christine Nerone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Hyatt at the Bellevue is centrally located and apparently refurbished. Service personnel were excellent; very attentive and eager to please.

Our king-sized room appeared to be recently redecorated in a contemporary minimalist style. The bed and bed linens were very comfortable. Flat screen tv with HBO… free wifi.

On the downside, the water temperature in the shower was “variable” so I was constantly adjusting, looking for a happy medium between hot and cold. Also, one of the light bulbs in the bathroom mirror was out and the toilet tissue holder was partially unscrewed from the wall, which made it a little tricky to use. These are small things, and it is an old hotel… still, it IS a Hyatt and I would have expected housekeeping supervisors to check for such things and notify maintenance.

Even so, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Philadelphia.

A few other helpful notes: Parking is $28/day for self park and $37/day for valet. And… the entrance to the hotel is actually around the corner, on the side street just after you pass the entrance. The “Gourmet Food Court” is NOT Gourmet… it is not even appetizing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent New Years Eve and Day at this gorgeous hotel. We had a wonderful dinner at XIX at the top of the hotel. Our high-ceilinged room was huge and beautifully furnished. On New Years Day we were able to see the spectacular Mummers Parade from our hotel window. The staff was very helpful and attentive. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt at The Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt at The Bellevue

Address: 200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt at The Bellevue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificently restored historic National Landmark, the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia's business, restaurant, shopping and theatre districts. Featuring 172 spacious guest rooms, this historic luxury property appeal to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt at The Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Philadelphia
Park Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt at The Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.