We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm in a modern city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt at The Bellevue

Save Saved
You added Hyatt at The Bellevue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt at The Bellevue
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #27 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old world charm in a modern city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed overnight after a family wedding. This is a beautiful old hotel and the service is perfection. Everyone tries to outdo themselves for you. The rooms are beautifully appointed as they would have been in 1905 when it first opened. I would have loved to look out from the observation deck on the 19th floor but they wouldn't open the doors (seasonal). I would like to go back again when I have more time to explore.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    153
    71
    34
    18
See reviews for
69
129
41
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Overall, this is a nice hotel in a good location. I stayed for 1 night for a conference that was in the hotel. Upon arrival, the Front Desk Agent was very pleasant. The guestroom was large and well appointed, with a king bed. However, there was a dirty sock from the previous guest on the floor in the closet. I informed the Front Desk, they apologized for the issue and offered me some Hyatt points for the inconvience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I wanted to reach out to you and thank you for the compliments to our staff and apologize for the condition that you found your room. We take these matters very seriously as we pride ourself on our service and cleanliness. I do hope that despite this you enjoyed your stay with us and will return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love this hotel. The location is perfect, staff is friendly, renovated rooms are modern and practical. Most importantly (for me) - you have direct access to the Bellevue Sporting Club, a phenomenal athletic facility. This alone makes it worthwhile.

There are plenty of power outlets, Internet speeds were fairly decent and bathrooms large.

Make sure you request a renovated room, however. The non-renovated ones are still a little frilly/old.

Probably the best value in Philly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Bellevue 2 nights in Nov. 2012. It's on Broad, not far from South St. South has lots of fun shops and good restaurants. It's nice to walk in the area.

The hotel is fabulous! It has a great gym. There is a food court with 10 or so restaurants downstairs and a bar as well. There are shops, too. There are nice views from the 19th floor. The staff is very nice, helpful, and accommodating. I really enjoyed this place and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were recently displaced by Hurricane Sandy and stayed at the Hyatt Belleview. The room was beautifully appointed, with a comfortable King size bed with a quality mattress and comfortable pillows and bedding. There was a lot of space in the room and a stately chair with an ottoman facing a large, flat screen TV. The hotel uses high quality amenities and has fitness center access with indoor track. It is quiet and comfortable and a great "home away from home." We were lucky enough to have found this property on hotwire.com for a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Bellevue is a classic vintage hotel. The XIX lounge and resturaunt on the top floor is a great escape after the day. The room decor is starting to get dated but the hotel makes up for it in quality service. I was here at the hotel during Hurricane Sandy and the staff was exceptional!!

Other benefits, the hotel is attached to one of the largest gyms in Philly (which guests can use) and a small shopping area and food court. Downside is it is pricey but you are in the heart of Philly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel was selected for a work-related conference and the meeting room was perfect. The hotel has elegance and the mouldings and decor have true charm.
It's location is convenient for great shopping, restaurants and historical attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine N, Director of Rooms at Hyatt at The Bellevue, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback regarding the Hyatt at The Bellevue. We are very proud of the history of our hotel and are glad you enjoyed it. We hope you will visit us again soon in Philly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt at The Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt at The Bellevue

Also Known As:
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt At The Bellevue Hotel
Park Hyatt Bellevue
Hyatt Philadelphia
Park Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt
Address: 200 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt at The Bellevue 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificently restored historic National Landmark, the hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Philadelphia's business, restaurant, shopping and theatre districts. Featuring 172 spacious guest rooms, this historic luxury property appeal to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt at The Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt at The Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.