We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Center City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Center City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #44 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We wanted a hotel near the Forrest Theater so our trip to Philly would make it easy to get around and attend a show.I was somewhat concerned when I saw the small storefront entrance to this hotel. Having already booked it we were locked into staying there. Upon entering the small lobby we were greeted by a very friendly staff and began to feel less leery. What a big surprise when we entered our room to find it to be well appointed with all the amenities of a large more expensive hotel. Very comfortable beds with sparkling white linens. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    21
    9
    9
See reviews for
15
32
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolivar, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband's company booked this hotel for him because he had a week of training to do in Philadelphia. We loved it! Nice cool rooms, quiet and clean. All of the staff were nice but especially Dawn and the clerk on the day shift, i believe his name was Ray. They were great!We loved being here. They made us feel right at home from day one. If we ever get a chance to come back to Philly this is where we would like to stay! Thanks! Dan and Donna Hamer

Room Tip: If you like a cool room... ask for one downstairs.Some of the rooms upstairs are controlled by a the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.

Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend whatever consideration I can and I hope on your return visit that we will again hit the right mark with you.

Sincerely,
Brian Krason
Guest Services
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent value - for the price we couldn't fault this hotel - fantastic location, feels like we're in walking distance of attractions and the staff are super friendly and helpful. This isn't an upmarket hotel so don't confuse it with that, but for what you do pay it's great value, room is good size, clean, tidy and we felt surprisingly well furnished as well.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.

Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend whatever consideration I can and I hope on your return visit that we will again hit the right mark with you.

Sincerely,
Brian Krason
Guest Services
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I visited this location twice in the last 10 days-
This is not upmarket, high end- this is good value, friendly small hotel in a great location.Ideal for exploring Philadelphia --a couple of blocks from city hall, a 10 minute walk from the hsitorical district, and close to bars restaurants and cafes.
Friendly and helpful staff expecially Dawn on front desk who is great.

when visiting Philly and looking for good value, great location-this is the place

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 4 days ago
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.

The General Manager has thanked Dawn personally for the guest services she provided you during your stay.

Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend whatever consideration I can and I hope on your return visit that we will again hit the right mark with you.

Sincerely,
Brian Krason
Guest Services
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel on a whim, I was going to Philadelphia with a friend and basically chose the cheapest hotel on Trivago within 2 miles of the centre of Philly. This hotel is in an amazing location, very central and close to all transport amenities you need - we arrived on a bus from NYC, so was easily walkable and we used the Phlash (Phillys tourist bus route) to get about.

I had booked a room with two double beds for myself and a friend. When we arrived we got told there had been an error and we only had a single room. The reception staff then spent quite a bit of time sorting this out and giving us an extra room at no extra cost.

Both rooms were of a good size and clean, tidy and well equiped, I have no qualms with the hotel at all - for the price and location it is worth staying here.

I found the staff to be really helpful and approachable - including when I somehow broke a window by touching it. I also found myself having to do an emergency international call to my bank as my card had been blocked which the hotel wrote off for me.

I'd happily stay here again and would actively choose this if I was staying in Philly again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your compliments to our staff and high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We are so glad that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently moved my son to Philadelphia to attend Thomas Jefferson. The hotel is walking distance with parking across the street ( which they validate) . We were not sure of the location or what we would find, but from the beginning to the end of the stay we were pleasantly surprised. Rodeway Inn is very European , small lobby, small halls, and small elevator. But our room was great, spacious, and furnished with all the amenities one would need. The area has restaurants and plenty of tourist attractions. I have already booked it again and hope that the experience is just as nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, your feedback, and your comments regarding your stay. We seek to give each guest a very comfortable and accommodating experience and we are thrilled to hear of our success in this ambition. We thank you for your loyalty and look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thought this would be a good find but I quickly found out why this hotel is only two stars. Unfriendly staff, especially the arrogant guy at the desk with grey hair. The rooms are tiny and pretty unclean. The building is really old so the floors are on a slant like the previous reviews said. You cannot even control the temperature in the room. Do yourself a favor and stay at a better hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodeWayCC, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I wanted to take a moment and thank you for leaving a post on trip advisor after your stay at the Rodeway Inn Center City Philadelphia. As hospitality professionals here at the Rodeway Inn we are constantly trying to see how we can better serve our guests. When someone takes the time to leave a comment, good or bad, we use it as a learning experience to enhance our customer service and then through ongoing training of the staff we always work towards getting better.

If this review is real I sincerely apologize for not being able to enhance your stay. If the review is not real then it is disappointing that your attack on the hotel is bad but the personal attack is unwarranted. As someone with over three decades of hospitality experience I go out of way to make a positive difference in someone's trip.

Please consider making a return trip to the Rodeway Inn and call me direct to book the reservation. I will extend whatever consideration I can and I hope on your return visit that we will again hit the right mark with you.

Sincerely,
Brian Krason, AKA the grey haired guy
Guest Services
Rodeway Inn Center City
1208 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Center City

Address: 1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Center City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New flat screen HDTVs and personal Keurig coffee makers in all rooms! We offer reasonably priced, straightforward accommodations with updated in-room amenities, right in the heart of the city! Our property is within short walking distance of many local attractions and business centers including but not limited to: The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell Center, The Franklin Institute, The National Constitution Center, Liberty Place, Jefferson Hospital, University of Penn Hospital, Walnut Street Theater, numerous eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Rodeway Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.