We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Philly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Center City to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Center City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Brooklyn Park, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Historical Philly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at the Roadway in on a stop over to an international destination. We wanted something within walking distance of the Historical Philadelphia area. The Roadway Inn has been remodeled recently, but still maintains some of its char as a older historical building. You will be surprised by the small elevator, however it is quaint. The room we had was very well re-done, clean and met our needs for the trip. Susan, the receptionist was most welcoming and very accommodating to our early check in, and late check out. She was also most helpful with providing information as well as providing taxi pickup for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    92
    33
    12
    17
See reviews for
41
73
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Best Price in town. The building is renovated from what seems to be 2 small old buildings. The hallways are narrow but the remodelled room was fine. No view. Not much room for clothing. Shower only. Free WiFi fridge microwave and safe. Nice staff. Half price parking in garage directly across the street. I can't see any reason to go elsewhere unless you smoke. No coffee in lobby. Starbucks and Dunkin nearby.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Rodeway Inn and we are glad that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A no-frills, but clean, hotel. Lobby is tiny, there is no breakfast (but a Starbucks just across the street). Receptionists are efficient, not really welcoming but ok.

Room: small, comfy bed, nice bathroom, nice city view.

Very fair parking price in a parking lot literally in front of the hotel (12USD a day).
Downtown, museums and everything else is close.

Overall experience better than what expected. Good quality/price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for your response! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks!

Thomas
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We checked this place out on here and was impressed by the reviews. We walked in off the street and was given a decent nightly rate. The receptionists were polite and quickly checked us in.

The lobby area was clean and straight away sent out the right signals that the rooms would be similar. We were given a room on the 5th floor and was instantly impressed with the quality of the decor and cleanilness. The room contains a flat screen with a range of channels, a fridge and coffee maker. Parking is discounted across the road and is bang in the middle of the city, a short walk to Independence Hall. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 505
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself and were pleased with the rooms. Please contact us again in the future as we would love for you to stay with us!

Thomas
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a place to stay inn CC for the weekend and everything was either sold out or 300+ per night. Had some Choice Points so...what the hell! Now I won't hesitate to stay here again. Clean, intimate, friendly. Rooms small but I didn't come to Philly to sit in my room. Well done Rodeway! We will see you again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are really glad that your stay with us was pleasant and that our price was to your liking. Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Thomas
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at some of the more luxurious hotels in Center City due to his work. They all cost close to $200 per night. We were looking for just one short overnight. Since we already had a rental car we also needed parking. We are Choice Hotel members and they offered the best price! Room was compact but clean, we'll placed furniture. Fridge, microwave, Keurig coffee maker with Green mountain coffee, two bottles of drinking water to make the coffee, free wifi with a pass code, comfy bed, nice tv! Discounted parking across the street! Friendly and helpful staff. Of course if you are looking for door men and valet parking, and on site bar restaurant you should look elsewhere. There is an elevator although small but it worked. We really enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that you were impressed with the renovations and the amenities that we have in the rooms. Please contact us again when you plan to visit Philadelphia and we will be sure to offer you the same level of great service.

Thomas
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nis, Serbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Room was very clea, but it was a little bit small. Two of us had a problem fitting in. Bed was really comfortable and more than big enough. However the lady on the front desk ( with short hair) was impolite and lacked frendliness. She was completely not interested in helping. It seemed like she doesn't want to be there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodeway1208, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I apologize on behalf of my staff member mentioned above. Our goal is to go above and beyond to exceed your expectations and it is unfortunate that you did not receive that. We have take the necessary actions to correct and reprimand this employee as we have a zero tolerance for this sort of behavior. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to make your stay an enjoyable one the next time that you are in the area.

Thomas
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Center City

Address: 1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Center City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New flat screen HDTVs and personal Keurig coffee makers in all rooms! We offer reasonably priced, straightforward accommodations with updated in-room amenities, right in the heart of the city! Our property is within short walking distance of many local attractions and business centers including but not limited to: The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell Center, The Franklin Institute, The National Constitution Center, Liberty Place, Jefferson Hospital, University of Penn Hospital, Walnut Street Theater, numerous eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Rodeway Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.