We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Theater District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Special from $89
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heart of Theater District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a great experience at the Philadelphia Double tree. Great location for attending a concert, convenient to restaurants and bars. This well appointed hotel is at the upper end of the Doubletrees where I have stayed. Very friendly staff, great views of the city from the upper floors. Recommend without hesitation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers. Our location is perfect for a concert or show at the Kimmel Center or a walk down the Avenue of the Arts. We welcome any suggestions to make your review 5 stars next time. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    705
    296
    127
    54
See reviews for
412
389
145
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, Usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The price is right and the staff are very helpful. I was here on business and was met with a smile and offer of assistance. And the warm cookie was a terrific added bonus! Right in the heart of Philly Great location. I'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review Susan. We are pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. We will have warm cookies waiting for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Philly. The rooms are very clean and the staff are friendly and knowledgeable.The bar was nice and the food served was lovely. We stayed five nights and would return. Comfy beds and a good shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic 5 Star Review. We are happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and will return again. We strive to provide the best service through a friendly and knowledgeable team, great food, and clean, comfortable rooms. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and must have spent at least 2 hours in total waiting for elevators to arrive!! Staff were friendly and the rooms were OK - stay on a low floor if you dont want to spend a long time waiting for the elevators!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Geoffpine,
Thank you for your comments. We’re sorry that the elevators were slow during your recent stay. I know that even when waiting 5 minutes for an elevator it can seem like hours. We are upgrading our equipment as quickly as possible and the results will be very noticeable. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again when visiting Philadelphia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights while attending a conference at the hotel.

Positives:
-The location is excellent - right in the heart of Philadelphia and walkable to most of the sights.
-The conference food was really good and they provided a great variety of healthier options for breakfast and snacks. Obviously, some of that was the choice of the conference planning committee - but the hotel definitely delivered good quality.
- A respectable exercise room - including 4 cardio machines, free weights, exercise ball, benches and other weight machines. I had no trouble getting in a great work out. The pool is small, and a little cooler than we like, so we didn't go in. However, there is a really nice outside deck in the pool area where you can relax and get some fresh air.

Not as great:
- The rooms are pretty good - smaller, but not cramped. However, the decor is getting a little outdated and the quality wasn't quite up to what I've experienced at other Hilton hotels. The bathroom was particularly noticeable, you could see rust stains forming in the shower and the ceiling was horrible...obviously a very poor job of patching what may have water damage.
- The hotel staff was ok, but I didn't find them going out of their way to be friendly or welcoming, particularly at the front desk. An exception was the conference waitstaff - they were excellent!
- The sauna was a disappointment because the temperature did not get hot enough. It was warm, but barely.

I would have no problems staying here again for a conference. And if there was a good deal, I might even stay here for pleasure. However, my husband and I switched to a different hotel after the conference - The Independent about 1 block away - and had a much more pleasurable experience. Bigger and more modern room, free continental breakfast delivered to your room, extremely friendly and welcoming staff. I would choose the Independent over the Doubletree.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear christinamn
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. We’re happy that you enjoyed your conference while a guest at our hotel. We have directed our Chief Engineer to take a closer look at the room you rented and make the necessary improvements to the bathroom. We are constantly monitoring the condition of our facilities and making capital improvements where needed. Thank you again for calling attention to your particular room and we hope to see you and your husband again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The blankets, pillowcases and towels were dirty or stained, and the room service which was supposed to be delivered upon check in was not there. The phone then rang at in the middle of the night the night before I left trying to deliever something I had ordered to be there 3 days before. There weren't ice machines on every floor, there were stains on the carpet, and there were loud noises coming from construction outside. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Sarah R,
We appreciate your taking the time to comment on your recent stay and apologize that your linen was not up to standard. All of our linen and towels are laundered in commercial grade equipment with industry standard detergent products. I know that our Director of Housekeeping has personally reached out to you to get the details of your guestroom experience. Thank you for your candid response and we look forward to your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

stayed there 2 nights in 5th Sept 2013. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to City Hall and 20min walk to Amtrak rail station. I recommend using Big bus tour (stop is opposite to the hotel) if the wanna city tour.
I got Hilton chocolate chip cookies during check-in and love it.
They didn't provide one bedroom. :-( So I booked rooms with 2 beds. It was nice, big, roomy, coffee and tea free, welcome non-alcohol drink of lobby for free too.
Internet wifi is free only in the lobby area (WI-fi in the room is for some change)
Swimming pool is small located on floor 5 with view on the main street. IHOP restaurant is 3min walk - recommend try breakfast there :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review peto78. We appreciate you taking the time to recommend our hotel and the lovely city of Philadelphia. Next time you are in town be sure to use the subway stop just outside the front door of the hotel and our delicious breakfast in the Balcony with a view of S Broad Street. We will have warm cookies waiting for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.