We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$109 in Downtown Philly
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I visited during the week of July 4th for a conference. Upon arrival the front desk was very busy and the wait time was about 15 min., but I received the excellent chocolate chip cookie and the staff person was quite helpful and friendly. I stayed there because of the reasonable price. The room was comfortable and clean. I would prefer if the rooms had Wifi, but you were able to use it in the lobby. I walked to the convention center which took 10 min. This allowed me to explore stores and restaurants in the area of the hotel. The hotel was also located in a safe area. It is customary to pay for parking which is an added expense, but you can go in and out of the garage when you please. Overall I was very satisfied with the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pick rooms that end in 10. They are located right where people get on and off the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smatthews71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I recently visited this property and agree with the aforementioned feedback about the location. The front desk greeting was "so so" until the agent realized I was an hhonors member. We quickly gained rapport - she seemed friendly and attentive until we were given the hard cookies. I mean, isn't that like a given dtree standard? "A warm cookie upon check-in" ? Hhonors member and you're still handing me a cold and hard cookie?

The room smelled fresh and clean and the housekeeping gentleman on the hhonors floor was very friendly. Breakfast on the other hand was not too impressive. I'm not sure if its because it was about 45 minutes from closing but the area was not welcoming and not clean. The hostess and server seemed a bit chatty instead of greeting us and then sat us at a table with crumbs surrounding the area. The food quality was so - so, it didn't seem fresh and the eggs benedict was just okay. I guess for a three star hotel and being from miami you get what you pay for. Cleanliness in a restaurant is of huge importance and considering that the restaurant was not busy AND a manager was present one would hope that closer attention would be paid to cleanliness and presentation.

I would definitely return but most likely skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betsey_MIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
241 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The rooms were quite comfortable especially the bed! The hotel is right across from the Arts Academy Opera House where we went to see "Wicked". Breakfast was adequate. The hotel staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ForbesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

First time in Philly and booked the Doubletree based on location and price. Easy to get to the hotel from the airport on the train. The hotel is only a few blocks from Market East or Suburban station so you cannot get lost. Checkin was fine, a little robotic but quick and efficient. Allocated room on the top floor with great views over the city and the sunsets.

Room was large, well appointed and lovely firm, comfortable bed, great for getting over any jetlag. Bathroom was perfectly fine but the tub was small in proportion to the rest of the room. Small amount of staining from water damage on the ceiling but it was not offputting. Access to the lounge was included in top floor executive rooms which was good as there was chilled bottled water and sodas available around the clock from the fridge. During the evening there was wine and beer available ( for purchase) and complimentary hors d'oeuvres which were quite nice.

Breakfast could either be taken in the lounge or on the first floor buffet. The cooked items were so so but there was a great selection of fruit and pastries etc which were better. Perfectly fine to start your day. Did not use the pool as it was quite small. Philly was very impressive from the museums to the ease of getting aound on the $7 day pass for the bus and metro. It was easy to walk and navigate. Do make sure you go up the City Hall tower $6, the views were great and the lift ride was interesting and lunch at one of the many choices at Market East Station food court - all amazing. Also be aware as I was there for 3 nights mid week in June and restaurants seemed to have last orders for food around 9.30/10 but there is a Applebees which opens late on South 15th and Locust if you get stuck. The Perch pub opposite the Doubletree does food too which was quite alright and there was a happy hour too, actually most bars did a good happy hour downtown which was good!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Everything was great except the beds were way too soft (old mattresses). Both my partner and I had back aches in the morning in two separate beds. Overall, the hotel was exceptional for the price.The breakfast room had a fantastic view and there was a large selection on the buffet. The pool are was under construction but the outdoor balcony off the hotel pool had spectacular views.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel for both business and with family, and the service and facilities are consistently high quality. The rooms are up-to-date, very comfortable and clean. I've always been very pleased by the warm welcome and efficient service provided by staff. Last but not least, the cookies are always warm and delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomSwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I can't say it enough. This hotel is in a great location. My mom and I were going to a show at the Kimmel Center and it's literally right across the street from this hotel. The hotel is gorgeous, rooms were clean. We had a corner room so we had a great view of the city. We parked our car at the parking garage and just walked everywhere from our hotel. Plus of course you get a free cookie with check in! :-) Who doesn't love that? My only (small) complaint would be that the front desk attendant was not exactly friendly. She was courteous and efficient and that's good. But I'd appreciate friendliness as well. Also the beds are super comfortable - I didn't wake up once.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktmk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#45 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,360 reviews
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing