We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Special from $89
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great hotel & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I spent one night here while visiting friends in Philly. The hotel is in a good location, near City Hall and close to a lot of restaurants and night life. We didn't have to take a cab at all.

The staff was helpful when checking us in and gave us a cookie.

The rooms were spacious and had a nice view. The beds were comfortable. The baths were half updated (everything but the tub).

We had breakfast in the room. It was expensive, just like room service at most hotels. The food was good although it was a bit cold by the time it was served 45 minutes after we ordered it. Recommend trying somewhere else for breakfast.

I did not pay full price for the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    702
    296
    127
    54
See reviews for
409
386
144
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nothing special, but nothing bad. It fits the bill, but didn't dazzle. Seems like a older building that has been updated pretty well, but still see the old building here and there. Windows for all room are a nice corner except when in the corner you can look into corner windows of rooms on either side of you. It is still private as long as you aren't standing right by the windows.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Social Media Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Trip was business and family combined. The pool was over treated adn casued my adult eyes to burn and my 9 year old son got a chemical burn or allergic type reaction to the pool water from the chemicals used.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was typical of all the others in it's class. What makes a property stand out is all the little things that make a stay memorable. I didn't find many positive things. The lounge staff seemed more interested in talking among themselves than in attentive service. The room was clean and comfortable, but the thermostat on the wall wouldn't work properly because the heat from the TV in front of it would over-ride it. The ice machine down the hall sounded like an idling diesel truck. This is not a bad hotel, it is just sadly average.

Room Tip: Avoid the ends of the hallways! There are staff entryways at the ends and they pay no heed to how mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We’re sorry we didn't provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure issues like these are not repeated. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and if you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement. We strive to be better than average!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here while attending a trade show in Philadelphia. The hotel is what I would expect from a Doubletree and had a fairly modern decor. These are not suite-style rooms and do not include a micowave/refrigerator. Within easy (~5min walking) distance, there are so many wonderful bars and restaurants, especially on 13th street. There is construction going on nearby which was noisy during the day, but in the evening it was very quiet.

Room Tip: The ice machines were located near the XX01 room on one of the floors and I can imagine it was disru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Meghan at the front desk: Excellent service, quick, and very sharp. Zero folio request, BAM. Delivered. Done. Questions on parking lot logistics? BAM, perfect simple explanation.

Bartenders and staff in the lobby bar: Perfect service. I ordered GG and lemon juice and my coworker ordered a mojito. BAM. Fresh lemon juice, fresh mint, and 2 perfect cocktails.

Held a company event in the Ormandy Room. Perfect. Bartenders, drinks, staff, all perfect.

Looked for a Starbucks and couldn't find one. Ask the bar staff. BAM. A good cup of coffee and a green tea. Done.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel was very nice looking, and all the people very helpful. We each got a warm, delicious walnut chocolate chip cookie - the most amazing cookie I've ever had - when we checked in.

The room was clean and comfortable with modern-looking decor. There was a small coffee maker, but no hair dryer. The sink in the bathroom had a beautiful dark wood base. Bathroom was a good size.

The bath towels were big!! Most hotels have those stupid tiny scratchy towels. These were adult-sized towels and not as scratchy as most.

Wireless is not exactly free, but there are some workarounds to not have to pay for it.

The gym was nice and had high quality machines and equipment.

Great stay overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.