We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DoubleTree in Philly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PARKING INCLUDED!
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“DoubleTree in Philly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The warm cookies were good, great city corner view. The bed was very comfortable. The location is great for being centrally located in downtown Philadelphia. Broad Street is well lit and is close to everything. Very Clean.

Room Tip: Corner room on front side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    779
    311
    134
    61
See reviews for
465
421
151
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel is located right in the middle of everything. Some nice local restaurants and bars are sprinkled around it (try Monk's Cafe). The hotel is about a $10 cab ride from the train station. Also is about a $10 cab ride to the Sugar Casino (or you can take the free shuttle there which comes by a block away). Room was clean. Hotel staff were polite, professional, and helpful. Would definitely stay here again for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. We also appreciate your suggestion about the cookies or some sort of favor after the false fire alarm. This is a great suggestion and we are definitely looking into it for the future. Thank you for your response and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future to see how we have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for only 1 night but it was really lovely to stay in. The staff were friendly and helpful. The decor is really nice. The room we had had a lovely view of the street. the room was very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Service great! Hotel parking is expensive but there is plenty of 24 hour parking lots around. There is arts and Italian food. Lots of locals. We walked to independence mall, market street, fabric row, south street (plenty of sneakers stores, and took the bus n subways to the movies n museum of arts.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is an average hotel, very central in Philly. Much overpriced!
The rooms are fine. The service is average.
During my stay there was a fire alarm and all people were asked to evacuate their room and go out by stairs (elevators are not permitted in such cases). After awhile, they announced that this was a false alarm. Now, many peope were waiting to return to their room, using the elevators. It took a long time, since many people had to use the elevators (thyere are 28 flo0rs in the hotel)
I understand that such events might happen, but I would expect some consideration (at least a cookie, or so). They behaved like nothing happened.

Bad:
- Noisy air conditioner (a/c) in the room (no central airconditioning)
- The a/c has limited tremperatures that you can set. The maximum is 24 C. This should be enough, but these thermostats are not well calibrated, which means that when it shows 24C it could be 20C. In the evening it was too cold and the limited temperature did not allow for proper heating.
- Slow TV: changing channels takes 3 sec. If you want to browse the channels, it is very annowing.
- They invite you to ask anything that you need. However, they do not mention the cost. You never know how much things cost untill you ask. They know that once you ask for something, it is not easy to say that it is too expensive for you.
- No safe in the room.
- Average maintanance (Stained carpet, stained celing in the bathroom, etc.)
- Expensive internet!!!! I believe that the time of 10$ per day is over. It was my mistake that I came to this hotel without checking the internet cost in advance. I will not do it again.

Goog:
- Fast elevators.
- Well lighted rooms.
- Iron and coffee maker.
- Large windows

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We just returned from 3 days at this hotel and had a wonderful experience. My husband was in Philly for a conference and my 4 yo son and I tagged along for a mini vacation. Prior to this trip, I had never stayed in Philadelphia before and wasn't sure about our location. The hotel is on the Broad St "Avenue of the Arts" which is one of the streets that leads directly to the beautiful and iconic city hall. We had a room on the 24th floor and had an amazing view of Broad St where at night there is a light show which my 4 yo loved. The room was very clean and updated, bed was comfortable and accommodated an equally comfortable "cot" that hotel staff promptly delivered when we realized we only had 1 king bed for the 3 of us. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, we especially loved "Big Baby" in the restaurant who was amazing. There are multiple great restaurants and shops within a short walking distance from the hotel. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: High floor rooms facing Broad St and the Bellevue Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I had a good experience here. We researched all of the options. It was a busy weekend in Philly, so there were no great deals to be had. To save money, I was tempted to stay a little farther away from the heart of Center City (the arts avenue, City Hall, Rittenhouse Square). However, I am glad we didn't. The Doubletree cost a little more than some of the other hotels on the periphery of the downtown, but it was worth it. The room was great and the people at the hotel were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.