We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Philly Overnight Package
Ranked #38 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A nice surprise in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and stayed here while attrending the Philadelphia Flower Show. We arrived early-around 12:00 noon and were able to check in to our room. The front desk clerk was very friendly and we were surprised to be able to get into our room. We were given two warm cookies upon checkin which was a nice gesture.

The room was great. It had two queen beds and a corner window with a chair and ottoman. Next to the chair was a good reading lamp and a side table. The room was spotless and nicely decorated as well as spacious- especially for a center city urban hotel.

We had breakfast in a nice space overlooking the lobby and for $10.00 had a very generous and nutritious meal- fresh fruit, fresh oatmeal, muffins, juice, et al. The service was pleasant and helpful.

The valet parking worked like a charm- we left the car with the doorman and when I called to get it the next morning it was out front before we got downstairs.

Value was great with a rate of $128.00 plus valet parking of $38.00. It was right in the heart of center Philly near shops and restuarants and directions to get there from website were good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are corner window rooms and have a great view of Philly. We were on the 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    541
    232
    103
    48
See reviews for
314
311
121
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stay here quite often and I can honestly say it is the best place we have ever been in. The location is perfect, right on the Avenue of the Arts and directly across the street from the Academy of Music. Practically next door to the Wilma Theater and walking distance to the historic Walnut Street Theater.
The very best thing about the hotel is, however, the superb staff. Everyone will go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Of special note is the bell staff, who treat everyone like old friends.
If you are planning a trip to Philadelphia, this is THE place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify that you do not want to be next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here in June of 2012, and came back to show our oldest son some of the museums and other sites of the city. From the initial booking request for a specific type room (thank you to the person who took our reservation and actually listened to me!), to our check-in on Monday, March 11th (thank you, Megan), to the helfpul directions provided by the doormen/concierge, and our stay through Friday morning, March 15th - we couldn't ask for better service or friendliness from everyone. The room was clean, we had a terrific view down Broad Street to City Hall (amazing at night with all of the buildings lit up in changing colors!), and we had another great experience. We stopped in the lounge area on Tuesday evening to have appetizers and beverages with our sons, and our favorite waiter from our stay back in June (Jarad [sp?] a/k/a Big Baby) recognized us and came over and welcomed us. How cool was that? My only complaint, such as it is, is that the person cleaning our room on Thursday needed to put down the cell phone and concentrate on what she was doing. We had great cleaning service during the week, including our daily request for a few additional towels, but the person who cleaned our room on Thursday seemed preoccupied with her phone conversation (and for all I know, she could have been talking to her supervisor). Thanks to everyone who made our stay comfortable and welcoming, and if we come back to Philly again, we will definitely stay here once more.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1503 in June of 2012 and requested a similar view for our March 2013 trip; we were give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As far as the facility itself, this hotel is no better or worse than any other generic 3-star+ big-city hotel. The rooms are clean, the bar food is bad, the gym is pretty good, and location is OK. Only thing to note is that not only does the hotel charge for wifi in the room, it charges per device. So if you're connecting a laptop and tablet, that's another $20/night. That may have worked around 2004, but if any Four Points or equivalent thereof can avoid this unnecessary charge, so can the Doubletree. It's a good enough hotel otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding the cost of our wireless internet service at our hotel. We’re sorry that it While we do charge an additional fee for wireless internet, we try to be competitive with other hotels and offer quality services and amenities in our guest rooms. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again. We'd love to have you as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is actually the second time we stayed at this hotel, the first time being about 2 years ago. It is located in the heart of Philly’s avenue of the arts so it’s tremendously convenient for anyone going to one of the theatres, the academy of music, or any of the myriad of restaurants in the area. Additionally it is just a short walk from city hall, Rittenhouse square, and many of the best bars and restaurants in center city. As it’s also a short walk to the subway and regional rail it’s a fairly convenient place to use as a base if you were exploring the area.

The hotel lobby is very attractive and well maintained. The check in counter is much smaller than you would think for a hotel this size, I think there is only room for 2-3 attendants, but the only time we saw a line was checking out on Sunday morning and even that was only 5-6 people deep. I never caught the name of the woman who checked us in; she wasn’t overly chatty or friendly but was efficient and had us on our way up to the room in no time.

The room we were given was on the other side of the elevator. I was concerned about it at first but we couldn’t hear anything so we didn’t ask to be moved, dropped off our bags and headed out for the night. The room itself was in fairly good shape with modern furniture and a fantastic view of the city. Many of the rooms end in a V that is all glass that gives you a huge viewing arc. After we returned we found two issues with the bathroom, but since it was late and we were tired we ended up not reporting. The first was that there was paint bubbling off the celling. I’m not sure if it was the humidity or something in the walls but there were 5 thumb-sized bubbles up there. The second was the noise of the shower… when you used hot water there was a faint squeal and as you turned it up higher it got worse. (In case anyone from the hotel is reading this, I believe it was room 1908) Neither was really all that bad but it was disappointing because the rest of the hotel was in so well maintained. We didn’t notice the elevators until early the next morning. As long as there is a din of noise they’re almost undetectable but when the rest of the world is quiet the noise was enough to wake me up. (Albeit I’m not the world’s soundest sleeper)

The housekeeping staff was absolutely fabulous. We ran into them a few times on Sunday morning and they were tremendously helpful, friendly, and really went out of their way to make us feel relaxed and unhurried.

Overall it was a good experience, I think we just ended up in the wrong room for us.

Room Tip: If you are easily disturbed by noise, chose a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. While we appreciate your kind words about our property; we are very sorry for the deficiencies you encountered while staying with us. We thank you again for your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and allow us another chance to provide a great stay for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
182 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room I had wasn't super high in the tower and was shaped a little strangely and so the room was a little cramped with a king bed. The bathroom was also a little smallish - but not unexpected for a big downtown hotel.

Not a huge issue as only really spent time there to sleep but generally everything was comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the wireless internet connection was pretty good.

Although they didn't upgrade my room, I did have access to the executive lounge upstairs and there were nice views up there and decent happy hour snacks and morning breakfast. That is always a nice treat.

I also had a chance to use the workout room. While they had 6-8 cardio machines, it was jam packed at 545am (luckily someone was just finishing so was able to get on the machine I wanted).

I would agree that the location was pretty amazing - 2 blocks from city hall and right in the heart of the Arts district - just a few blocks away from all the boutiques and decent shopping and local restaurants (I had probably the best vegan meal of my life 3 blocks away!)

Would definitely look at this one again but hopefully it won't be as full next time so I can get a room upgrade!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is located on the outskirts of downtown Philadelphia. I would not feel safe walking alone in the area. Parking lot is deserted and creepy at night. Long wait to check in. Room seemed fine at first until I found a wet urine stain in the bed. Staff was very rude about handling the problem as if I was bothering them. Not sympathetic or apologetic at all. Not the type of service I expect from a big-name chain. Would not recommend. Would never stay here again. Too many other great choices in the downtown area.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTPM, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear lucksgirl,
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay. We apologize that you were not happy with our location. Our hotel is located in the heart of Center City; directly across the street from the Academy of Music, the Merriam Theater, the Kimmel Center, and 4 blocks from Rittenhouse Square. Our neighborhood is active and safe. Relative to the situation you are describing about the condition of your bed, we would appreciate if you could contact our Director of Front Office at 215-893-1653 to get more details as we cannot find any reports as described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.