We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Special from $89
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

You can walk anywhere from this hotel, which is located in the heart of the city. We were upgraded to the Executive Level rooms on the 26th floor, which are newly renovated. Last year we stayed in one of the regular room, which are also very nice. Hilton Honors has great rewards, and we got Continental Breakfast with the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - we had noisy neighbors and had to keep the TV loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    701
    296
    127
    54
See reviews for
408
385
144
531
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here for four days for a conference. The staff was great, the bar a great place to hangout & breakfast in the Balcony was good. Be patient for an elevator during busy times. Only big drawback, they charge $10/day for Wi-Fi in your room!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

there was a lot to like here-great view of the city, spectacular location near Kimmel Center and the gayborhood, good cookie, nice flat screen HDTV, good-sized room and nicely decorated, and nice breakfast. However, being unable to sleep because there is no sound protection from the hall ruins the whole experience. We had some neighbors that were intermittently noisy at night and it sounded like they were in our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and we apologize for the disruptive noise you encountered from neighboring guests. We have shared your comments with our facilities team and they are currently researching additional sound-proofing measures we may be able to take to minimize this issue. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location convenient for all your activities in town and hope you will keep us in mind the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised and delighted to walk into our room after a hassle free check-in because we were a little anxious after reading negative comments about this hotel before arriving. Honestly I think some people must get their kicks out of writing complaints about minor issues at hotels they stay in but they are also the type of person who could never be pleased.
This hotel is "affordable luxury" and we enjoyed a wonderful stay here. The room was one of the corner suites overlooking Broad Street and the room was spacious, well set out and the beds and pillows were heavenly. The bathroom was likewise - spacious, clean and beautiful thick, quality towels. The location is perfect - central and convenient to all restaurants and shopping and we found that it was a good point from which to walk to most sight-seeing attractions.
We were very happy with everything about our stay in this hotel and would recommend it strongly.
P.S - The complimentary check-in cookie is to die for!

Room Tip: The corner rooms overlooking Broad Street are particularly attractive with great views but you do ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The best part about the Doubletree is the fantastic location. We were able to walk all over the city with ease and were within spitting distance of great restaurants. Our room was large and clean, no complaints there. My main complaint was the lack of late check-out option. We were in town for the Philadelphia Marathon, and when we checked in, we asked for a late checkout. I was going to be finishing the race a half hour before the regular noon checkout time. We simply wanted an extra hour so we could shower after the race. We were told no, that with so many marathoners staying at the hotel they couldn't accommodate everyone's late check out. I asked if the hotel was fully booked on Sunday night. I was told it wasn't. I checked myself by looking online--they had every level of room available for the following evening. Then I asked if they have a half-day rate, where we could pay to keep the room a few extra hours--I've done this at many other hotels including boutiques and major brands like JW Marriott. I was told no. There was absolutely no possible way for us to keep the room for an extra hour except for booking an entire night, which we were given the option of doing. Wow. I travel a ton for work, and my husband works for a hotel company. We were shocked. We have never been denied either an extra hour for check-out or the option of paying a half day rate. If ever there's a time you need a shower, it's after a marathon. Needless to say, I won't be choosing Doubletree again, not when so many other brands offer these options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We again apologize for not being able to meet your request and we hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here after watching the Monday night Philly-Carolina game. Extremely rude lobby staff in the morning. Restaurant not even open for breakfast at 7 am. Don't stay here!

Gift shop also not open in the morning. Seems like they just don't want to make money or please their guests.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible as we continually evolve to best fit your needs. We’re sorry that you found our dining and sundries outlets hours inconvenient and we’ve shared your comments on our misstep in service with our team so in the future we can do a better job of ensuring each guest feels valued and cared for. The next time you travel to the area, we hope that you’ll be our guest again so we can show you the quality stay you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The location is like it says right at city center. Lots of shopping as I discovered this stay and many eating places close by. Even the rooms along the street aren't too bad if you have a room on a higher floor. The view was excellent from the 15th floor. Impressive buildings all around. Despite the place being very busy they got to me right away.
The workout room is cramped and by far not the best. Good machines but not many choices. The pool is a "kiddie" pool. About 15'x20', not good for laps at all.
There might be one but I could not find a hot tub.
Yes folks the cookies here are probably some of the best in the Doubletree system, they are soft, kinda thick and not dried out.
I would recommend it if you needed a convenient place downtown, close to everything and didn't mind the price.

If you find this helpful make sure you mark it so.
Thanks
Berny

Room Tip: Higher rooms next to the street have good views but a bit of noise. Stay away from the room right ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.