We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sweet Suites from $139
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The best part about the Doubletree is the fantastic location. We were able to walk all over the city with ease and were within spitting distance of great restaurants. Our room was large and clean, no complaints there. My main complaint was the lack of late check-out option. We were in town for the Philadelphia Marathon, and when we checked in, we asked for a late checkout. I was going to be finishing the race a half hour before the regular noon checkout time. We simply wanted an extra hour so we could shower after the race. We were told no, that with so many marathoners staying at the hotel they couldn't accommodate everyone's late check out. I asked if the hotel was fully booked on Sunday night. I was told it wasn't. I checked myself by looking online--they had every level of room available for the following evening. Then I asked if they have a half-day rate, where we could pay to keep the room a few extra hours--I've done this at many other hotels including boutiques and major brands like JW Marriott. I was told no. There was absolutely no possible way for us to keep the room for an extra hour except for booking an entire night, which we were given the option of doing. Wow. I travel a ton for work, and my husband works for a hotel company. We were shocked. We have never been denied either an extra hour for check-out or the option of paying a half day rate. If ever there's a time you need a shower, it's after a marathon. Needless to say, I won't be choosing Doubletree again, not when so many other brands offer these options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We again apologize for not being able to meet your request and we hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    653
    280
    124
    53
See reviews for
399
360
138
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
arlington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here after watching the Monday night Philly-Carolina game. Extremely rude lobby staff in the morning. Restaurant not even open for breakfast at 7 am. Don't stay here!

Gift shop also not open in the morning. Seems like they just don't want to make money or please their guests.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebekah K, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at our hotel. Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible as we continually evolve to best fit your needs. We’re sorry that you found our dining and sundries outlets hours inconvenient and we’ve shared your comments on our misstep in service with our team so in the future we can do a better job of ensuring each guest feels valued and cared for. The next time you travel to the area, we hope that you’ll be our guest again so we can show you the quality stay you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
478 reviews 478 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The location is like it says right at city center. Lots of shopping as I discovered this stay and many eating places close by. Even the rooms along the street aren't too bad if you have a room on a higher floor. The view was excellent from the 15th floor. Impressive buildings all around. Despite the place being very busy they got to me right away.
The workout room is cramped and by far not the best. Good machines but not many choices. The pool is a "kiddie" pool. About 15'x20', not good for laps at all.
There might be one but I could not find a hot tub.
Yes folks the cookies here are probably some of the best in the Doubletree system, they are soft, kinda thick and not dried out.
I would recommend it if you needed a convenient place downtown, close to everything and didn't mind the price.

If you find this helpful make sure you mark it so.
Thanks
Berny

Room Tip: Higher rooms next to the street have good views but a bit of noise. Stay away from the room right ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed two nights with my daughter during college visits. Nice location with subway by the corner. Several good restaurants in walking distance. Only real problem was broken elevator in parking garage and ridiculous parking costs. The rooms are pretty neat design with corner windows in all rooms

Room Tip: All rooms have corner windows, nice design
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Overall evrything was great. Ease of checking in, clean spacious room and very comfortable bed and pillows.
I do not like paying $100 more per nt because it is a special event wkd, eg the marathon, even when booked months ahead.
And for the addntl price, no breakfast included. Buffet at $13PP- not reasonable when used to European hotels w breakfast buffets included in most hotels of this rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine,TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I really was surprised by the clean and modern, but comfortable!, decor at the Doubletree. My room was on the top floor and had an unusual shape that gave it character. The bed was very comfortable and was very quiet even though I was relatively close to the elevators. My only complaint was that the toilet was positioned that I kept hitting my knees on the door. Otherwise a great stay with very nice staff. Don't pass up the warm cookie at check in!

Room Tip: Higher the better as the hotel is located in a popular part of downtown that has considerable activi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

In town for the Phila. Marathon. Staff were very accomodating, making a good effort to get us the type of rooms requested. Loved the hot cookies. Sunday brunch was delicious, a great way to celebrate the completion of the race. This was our fourth marathon, and fourth stay at this hotel. Site is close to the expo and walkable to the start/finish of the race. Looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, as the main street is rather noisy at night.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.