We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for center city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Philly Overnight Package
Ranked #38 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel for center city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed two nights with my daughter during college visits. Nice location with subway by the corner. Several good restaurants in walking distance. Only real problem was broken elevator in parking garage and ridiculous parking costs. The rooms are pretty neat design with corner windows in all rooms

Room Tip: All rooms have corner windows, nice design
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    458
    553
    234
    106
    49
See reviews for
322
320
122
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Overall evrything was great. Ease of checking in, clean spacious room and very comfortable bed and pillows.
I do not like paying $100 more per nt because it is a special event wkd, eg the marathon, even when booked months ahead.
And for the addntl price, no breakfast included. Buffet at $13PP- not reasonable when used to European hotels w breakfast buffets included in most hotels of this rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine,TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I really was surprised by the clean and modern, but comfortable!, decor at the Doubletree. My room was on the top floor and had an unusual shape that gave it character. The bed was very comfortable and was very quiet even though I was relatively close to the elevators. My only complaint was that the toilet was positioned that I kept hitting my knees on the door. Otherwise a great stay with very nice staff. Don't pass up the warm cookie at check in!

Room Tip: Higher the better as the hotel is located in a popular part of downtown that has considerable activi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

In town for the Phila. Marathon. Staff were very accomodating, making a good effort to get us the type of rooms requested. Loved the hot cookies. Sunday brunch was delicious, a great way to celebrate the completion of the race. This was our fourth marathon, and fourth stay at this hotel. Site is close to the expo and walkable to the start/finish of the race. Looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, as the main street is rather noisy at night.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent place. The room (on the Hilton Honors floor) was clean, spacious and quiet. Perfect for relaxing. Standing O Bar was very good. The drinks were surprisingly good in no small part to having a noticeable amount of liquor in them. Nacho appetizer was also good. Of particular very positive note was Kim at the front desk. We checked in early evening, and she was a positive and spirited as could be. Kim and her upbeat helpful friendly attitude was what we needed after a long day. She is one of the big reasons we enjoy coming back to Hilton and this Doubletree. No complaints- we'll be back the next time we are in Philly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors facing west. There are great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear ThomasH133,
We appreciate your kind words regarding your stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City. It's great to also get feedback about specific employees and experiences in our restaurants. I wil be sure to pass on your kind words to the appropriate departments.
We are looking forward to seeing you again at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
Regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel. The location is superb- about three blocks south of City Hall- and on one of the main streets in Philly, Broad Street. The wonderful Reading Market is ten minutes away. Walk east and you are in the historic Washington Square area and then, a little further on and you are in the heart of colonial Philadelphia. There are several subway and train stations right next door. THis is a good hotel for anyone who is visiting Philly as a tourist or who needs reasonably easy access to universities (Penn, Drexel, Thomas Jefferson). The hotel itself has nothing special to make it stand out. The room we had was very ample and comfortable, though, and the service from reception staff was good. Its very strange, though, that the only teas available in the rooms are chamomile and Earl Grey. What about some good old fashioned ordinary black or English Breakfast tea? British, canadian, Australian tourists would really appreciate that

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear MelbourneOztraveller,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City. We are pleased that you found our location ideal for your visit. I will be sure to forward your message on about the tea in the room, yes I would agree that tradtional tea should be offered.
If you are ever in the Philadelphia area we hope that you will chose to stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
Regards,
The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was in Philadelphia for a conference in September 2011. I stayed at the Double tree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City which was located at a good place with friendly staffs. when i got there, they gave me a hot cookie at registration. It was fantastic to be treated with such kindness and consideration as I was tired. The room was very spacious, clean, and great.The bed was comfortable. I everyday ate my healthy breakfast especially delicious blueberries in the lounge and enjoyed the beautiful view there. I bought some beautiful souvenir gifts at the hotel gift shop. I really had good time there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.