We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Chester, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel was in the ideal location but so many other features brought it down to a 3*. First off, parking is ridiculous for a night. Yes, I understand were in the city center but other garages around are much cheaper. The next concern of mine was that prior to getting into bed we found blood on our sheets. This is one of the most disgusting things that you could ever encounter during a hotel stay. The bar was decent, front desk allowed early check-in and the environment was pleasant but I don't foresee us returning to this hotel. For the amount of money we paid for this hotel room, I was expecting much better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara F, Executive Guest Experience Liaison at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay, the hotel’s great location and our staff. I would like to apologize for the room defects you had to endure. Your feedback is vital in our continued effort to improve our guests’ overall experience. We would like to follow-up on these issues so that they can be corrected moving forward. So if you like, could you please forward your name, room number and dates of stay to barbara.fitzgerald@marriott.com. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    900
    424
    140
    76
See reviews for
355
395
124
926
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

When I booked this reservation through Priceline, I had no idea where I would end up (but I only searched 4 & 4.5 stars). When I got Marriott I did not think much UNTIL I arrived and oh my goodness! What an amazing hotel! Located right next door (literally steps away, across the street) from the convention center. Perfect location. A $7 cab ride away from Penns Landing - don't miss Morgans Pier (a GREAT bar!). But the best part: this Marriott is directly across the street from the Reading Terminal Market which is a MUST SEE when you are in Philly.

BUT the ROOMS at the Marriott are OUTSTANDING. 12 foot high ceilings, in a HUGE room with a very large bathroom. Bed was so comfy and staff were all friendly and very helpful! Thank you for a GREAT stay! Can't wait to go back to Philly and stay here again! :))

Room Tip: Valet parking at the Marriott is a whopping $48 but you can save a few $$$ if you park across the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for a business convention. The desk staff were lovely and very eager to please their guests. I asked for a room on a high floor, and was granted my request. i was also given access to the Club Lounge, which was great. They served an upgraded continental breakfast, evening canapés, and nightly dessert. The room was very clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable and the bath amenities were nice.
One of the best features of the hotel was its access to attractions, the convention center, the Market and great restaurants. Loved my stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was a one night business trip for me. I asked for the upgrade and was able to secure a larger room. The room was clean and reasonably priced. However, I was surprised that the breakfast did not open until 6:30 AM EST. I had an early meeting and wanted to eat closer to 6:00 so I opted for the Starbucks. I would return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Every time the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) holds its annual convention in Philly, I make sure to stay here. Outstanding! Room is clean. Hotel is clean and connected to the Convention Center. Also just a short walk to the escalator to take you to the train station and mall.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here to go on the Philadelphia Segway tour. Was able to walk to the Segway location at Indepence Hall (about a 13 min walk). Walking distance to restaurants and bars. Accross the street from Reding Terminal Market. Hotel was very nice and clean. No complaints.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1138, it faced the Redding Terminal Market. It was a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I spent three nights here for attending the 74th annual meeting of Academy of Management. It was an excellent hotel even though it cost only $110 per night thanks to both student and academic membership. It locates in Market Street, downtown in Philadelphia. For finding the hotel, the only thing that required me to do was to get inside a train at the Philadelphia airport terminal, to get outside the train at the Market East station, and to take an elevator that reached the hotel's air walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#15 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,321 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Hotwire so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.