We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“US History Field Trip at Its BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Bogart, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“US History Field Trip at Its BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is our second trip to Philly, first overnight (only 1 night). Just returned home yesterday. The Marriott is conveniently located near everything we needed. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and polite. We were in the tower building. The sixth floor room was larger than what I usually receive. There was a king bed with a separate sitting area sofa, two chairs, and desk with tables and lamps. The tower was attached to the Convention Center, having to use your room key to access the floors on the elevator assured that we were safe. There was a bridge way that connected the main building to the tower...this would be great when the weather is not so great.

On our day trip to Philly we were introduced to the Reading Terminal Market. We were in heaven! This has just about anything your might desire to eat! This time we ate at the Amish Diner--fresh ground hamburger and cut fries. Naturally before we left we went to Beiler's Bakery for a doughnut ...go to the back left..YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY! Everything is in walking distance (we thought) from hotel. We did discover a shopping district The Gallery that goes underground, street level, and some third floor stores....this was from the back escalator of the Marriott Tower (Hard Rock Cafe and Dunkin Donuts there) to almost the Historical District.

The Historical District includes a Visitors Center (everyone was so helpful there)--FREE, The Liberty Bell--FREE, Independence Hall--pick up FREE Tickets at Visitors Center (go early), Christ Church Cemetery--*fee (Ben Franklin's grave can be seen without going in), Constitution Center--*fee....Betsy Ross's house is around but we did not go there. The US Mint, where coins are made, is right there....Tour is FREE.

Needless to say it was a very busy place and we enjoyed our selves. We felt safe and the uniformed officers were very helpful. There are options of the Big Bus Tours that start there at the hotel. The SEPTA (Public Transportation) train can be taken from airport to the Market Station~~hotel is just up the escalator. The cost is $8 which you will pay the conductor on the train when you leave the airport. The Market Station has a ticket agent, there are day passes.

Since our pick up back to the airport was 6:15 am we did find that the Dunkin Donuts at the base of that tower escalator opened at 5:30 am -- coffee was good!

Even with a conference, a couple of family reunions, and meetings...EVERYONE at the hotel was more than helpful...it did not matter how busy they were. We did not use the restaurant on site because we were going to see the city on this mother/daughter trip.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are away from the hotel lobby but are at the convention center. We were on the six...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    878
    408
    135
    73
See reviews for
336
375
123
907
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We hand a wonderful time at the Philadelphia downtown Marriott. Our room was wonderful, the hotel was clean and the service team was courteous, friendly and very helpful. The location was right across the street from the Farmers Market. There were several very big functions going on and other than the family leaving on Sunday and clouding the lobby, we did not feel crowded at all.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here for a quick overnight trip. Great location with lots to do within walking distance. Check in/checkout was easy. Staff was very pleasant. Take a trip to Reading Terminal market for food. Only issue was parking was really expensive (but it's the city, not much you can do). Really enjoyed our trip to Philly!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over a weekend for a business meeting. The meeting was at a different MUCH more expensive hotel and I'm not sad I didn't pay the extra. This hotel has a good location. It is clean and paid a great price for it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed at this site for work and was disappointed considering the brand. The window in my bedroom was so small it reminded me of steerage class on a cruise ship. The room should have been cleaner (e.g. marks on walls, hair in bathtub that wasn't mine). Finally, the air conditioning throughout the hotel was set very high. I eventually took to wearing a sweatshirt to my meetings.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and the friendliness of our staff. We are sorry to hear that your experience in one of the rooms in the Head House, an historic building that was originally the corporate headquarters for the Reading Railroad, was no up to your expectations. Additionally we are sorry to hear that the air conditioning was a bit on the cool side for you. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just stayed five nights for a convention. Great location for the convention center. Across the street from the Terminal with all of its really great food outlets. Hotel is basic convention quality. Really nothing special otherwise. Only one restaurant. Concierge Lounge not open on weekends and this hotel is one of the few Marriott properties that does not give Gold and Platinum members free breakfast when lounge is closed. It is true that the Marriott Rewards fine print identifies this but Marriott should notify customers with elite status when they make a reservation that this is the case. The hotel web site does not say this. Rooms are basic but clean. All of staff were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay, the hotel’s great location and the friendliness of our staff. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused as a result of our hotel being one of the few Marriott’s which does not open the Concierge Lounge on weekends. Your feedback is vital in our continued effort to improve our guests’ overall experience and will be shared with the appropriate decision makers for future consideration. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just got back from 2 nights in Philly. We had a great visit (to a great city!) and could not have been happier with the hotel. I got a great rate on another site, so factor that in, but I have to say I was impressed with the service and efficiency in such a large and busy hotel. Staff is very friendly! We didn't really use any of the hotel services, just slept there, but it was clean (room was renovated) comfortable, and in the perfect location. Every morning I walked across the street and got the BEST DOUGHNUTS IN THE WORLD for breakfast. The Reading Terminal Market is a food Mecca, and this Marriott is about 25 yards away. It was a really pleasant stay, and I would definitely look to stay at this Marriott again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#15 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,262 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Chinatown
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda, Venere, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott and HotelsClick so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.