We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in the Downtown Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #41 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay in the Downtown Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was in Philadelphia for a conference and stayed at this Marriott in the downtown area. It is huge, tons of rooms, and close to everything. It's within walking distance of the convention center, bunches of restaurants, and even historic sites, such as the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. The hotel, itself, was clean, comfortable, and the rooms were quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    669
    315
    101
    61
See reviews for
255
290
98
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel is quite dated and needs a serious update. The location makes it a good place to stay if you are in the area for a convention, as it is 2 blocks from the convention center and directly across from the Reading Terminal Market.

My biggest problem is with their business practices. First of all, it is IMPOSSIBLE to get a copy of your bill without a great deal of effort and hassle. They did not leave a copy of the bill under my door and the line to check out was too long for me to get one. You cannot simply call the front desk and request a copy. You have to email or fax a request to some unknown entity.

Secondly, unlike every other Marriott I have stayed at, they do not email a copy of your receipt to you!

Third, when I called the "At Your Request Line" and front desk, my minimum wait was always at least 30 rings. Sometimes no one ever answered!

Fourth, they close their elite lounge on the weekend. They do not bother to tell you this at check-in. When you find out and ask what the accommodation is for breakfast, they will tell you that they will add 1000 points to your account for each weekend night that you are staying. However, they never award the points. The desk clerk who said she would check on this and call me back never called me.

By far, this Marriott has the worst customer service of the many where I have stayed!!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the noisy elevator tones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara F, Executive Guest Experience Liaison at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent visits to our hotel. We appreciate the opportunity to benefit from your feedback. We would like to apologize for the frustration and inconvenience you experienced when you were unable to obtain a copy of your folios, that the concierge lounge was closed and the delay in the phone being answered. As I mentioned in my email to you, your comments have been shared and corrective action has been taken. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I found this hotel to be a disappointment. The room was not very clean, the service was marginal. The toilet did not flush correctly and the key did not always work in the elevator. The waitress service in the lobby bar was terrible but the bartenders were excellent. The location is outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara F, Executive Guest Experience Supervisor at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor! We greatly appreciate the feedback both positive and negative. Please accept my apologies for the unsatisfactory accommodations you were given and the disappointing waitress service in our restaurant. We strive to deliver the best that our customers like you deserve and expect but obviously failed in your case. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate department leaders for immediate corrective action. Please feel free to contact me directly should your travels bring you back to Philadelphia and our hotel so that I can personally handle your reservation to ensure that it exceeds your expectations. I can be reached at (215) 625-6030.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I just spent three nights here and really enjoyed my stay. The location in downtown Philly is excellent, close to convention center, Reading terminal market, historical sites, and nightlife. The lobby is really nice with restaurant and bar. The hallways and rooms are a little dated, but very clean and comfortable. The workout and pool area are also very nice.

You can walk to restaurants, nightlife, liberty bell area, and subway. I would definitely stay here again. I recommend you do NOT park at the hotel, unreasonably expensive, and lots of parking garages close by that are much cheaper (but not cheap).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Overall this hotel is pretty dated, however it is located in the heart of the city and close to everything. If you have business downtown, I would recommend this hotel. Employees were helpful, and the rooms are acceptable. Not a 5 star, but I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay, accommodations and the friendliness of our staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed here for three nights. Location great-across from the reading market and close to the beautiful city hall . We could walk to the avenue of the arts and to the amazing Barnes museum. The lobby is lovely. The halls were like a maze and not particularly well appointed.!The room was fine-unfortunately no cool shot on the hair dryer so I guess I will have to start packing my own...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and our great location. We are only sorry to hear that the rest of your experience was not as good; and for that we are sorry. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel really exemplifies the defintion of what a Marriott should stand for. When I entered the property I was transported a beautifully designed lobby with awesome decor all around. The check-in experience was awesome and I felt like I was a VIP for the night. The room was beautifully appointed with 2 decent sized double beds, huge desk area and ample amount of lighting. This hotel will now be the first choice when I have to stay in Philadelphia and I will tell everyone about my fantastic stay. Keep up the great work Marriott!!

Room Tip: High floor gives a beautiful view of Center City
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.