We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel is in very good location near city Hall, subway, Reading Terminal Market, Macy's etc. Good rooms and staff. Only negative was the restaurant. They'd only A la Carte on weekdays, and the order of breakfast took like 45mts to come. Even the dinner order was very late. But food tasted good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    754
    358
    116
    65
See reviews for
288
324
110
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Large Marriott right in the heart of PHL. You can get to the convention center easily, as well as Reading Terminal Market, City Hall and it's just a few blocks from the Liberty Bell and Constitution Hall.

The rooms are standard Marriott, nice, attractive and comfortable. I had a great view of City Hall.

Grand lobby, nice staff and great hot chocolate when I checked out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were glad to only stay one night at this Marriott. Usually, I'm hoping to extend my stay but not this time. The location is great - close to the Wells Fargo Center for the George Strait Concert, across from the Reading Terminal and walking distance to McGillin's Old Ale House. The rooms are not updated and the bathroom was not cleaned properly. (found hair on the sink). Check in and Check out were a mess and we waited for over 1.5 hours in 20 degree weather to get our vehicle from the valet - and only after we went to the valet manager twice. Do NOT valet at this hotel as they do not have their process together. Park across the street for half price and you can leave on time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and the hotel’s great location. I would like to apologize for the extended delay in retrieving your vehicle from valet and for the extra steps you had to go through. Your feedback is vital in our continued effort to improve our guests’ overall experience and will be utilizing them to make improvements in our service. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel it was quiet .... while setting in the heart of center city Starbucks onsite ..... very safe and close to lots of fun... Hard Rock Cafe is like a block away. ... convention center is also very very close. ... city hall is a block away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel! Stayed for only one night to attend a 76ers game @ the Wells Fargo Ctr with my son. Did my research ahead of time & didn't wanna stay out near the Navy Yard nearer to the Wells Fargo Ctr because there's not a lot to do out there so we decided to stay downtown near the Broad Street subway line which delivered us directly to the Wells Fargo Ctr & was only a short 3 block walk to the train. The hotels location was perfect. Located in the city center it's near everything! Directly across the street from the Reading Terminal Market where there are tons of eating options. Plenty of shops & restaurants nearby.
The room was comfortable & spacious & the beds were great. For a good view request a room on a higher floor. Didn't really have a chance to sample the amenities on our short stay. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Checking in & out was quick & easy even on a very busy day. Valet parking was also very efficient & the valets were friendly & helpful. Room service was great, the food was delicious & delivered very fast.
This was a good value for the price including an extra cost for valet parking. I would recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Philly for business or pleasure. Enjoyed our stay very much!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Philadelphia Downtown Marriott is connected to the convention center via a third floor walkway. Reading Terminal Market is steps from the hotel. Barnes Museum is a six dollar cab ride away. We would have walked but it was cold. Melting Pot and Maggiano's restaurant is across the street. Hotel lobby is very nice and rooms were just perfect for our needs. Staff was friendly. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Updated hotel with good size rooms and great conference areas. Food during conference was good and service was excellent. Connection to Philadelphia Convention Center was convenient. Drop off of car at entrance on Filbert Street was chaotic but hustling staff made the lines of cars waiting to enter lot move quickly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#41 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.