We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is Key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Location is Key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel has been around a long time and has continued to update and renovate to keep pace with the gentrification of Philadelphia. While it offers a solid and reliable Marriott standard, the location is prime. It is literally in the city center with City Hall, Love Park, Philadelphia Convention Center, Reading Terminal, and the 13th Street dining scene all within a 5 minute walk. Additionally, there is a subway station that can be reached without venturing outside. In addition, it is also equidistant between the Rittenhouse Square and the Historic districts, both about a 15 to 20 minute walk (about 8 blocks). If one wants to explore Philly, this is a great starting point!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    754
    358
    116
    65
See reviews for
288
324
110
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a pretty typical downtown Marriott but with above average staff and service. For Gold members and above, the concierge lounge also had excellent service and a bit better than average food. Best for business as it connects to the convention center via a bridge. It is also across the street from the Reading Terminal Market which is a really fun European style food market. There is a mini fridge in the room for leftovers of food from the Market. There's also a microwave in the concierge lounge. Taxi from the airport is flat rate at $28.50 plus tip. Overall it’s a very good business hotel. If toy are there for tourism, it is dead center in middle of downtown.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara F, Executive Guest Experience Liaison at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor regarding our hotel. Your feedback is so appreciated! I am glad you enjoyed the Concierge Lounge and our location. Our goal is to offer exceptional service and your review will help us to achieve that. Thank you for choosing the Philadelphia Marriott and we hope to welcome you back when you return to Philadelphia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I was disappointed that the free wireless in the lobby was hard to find. When I tried to log in, the wireless defaulted to the pay log in. If you go, be sure to log into Marriott Lobby for the free service, and not Marriott Guest. Even more annoying, the free wireless signal didn't reach all parts of the lobby, but the pay signal does.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here while at a large convention. The weather outside made me very glad I could get to the convention without venturing outside - a major convenience of this large hotel. My room was fine, but what impressed me most was the friendliness of all the staff. The downside was it was very crowded in the lobby because of the convention, and having a meal in Thirteen meant a sometimes lengthy wait. On night three, only the bar menu was available because, my server told me, "we have weather problems and staff shortages."

I had repeated problems with the highly sensitive safe, which gives an error message at the slightest provocation. Nevertheless Security were quick to respond and unlock it for me, and it was clear this was a regular problem. Tip - make sure what you put in doesn't touch the lid when you close it or you will likely get an error message when you try to open it again.

As others have said the location is very convenient and central.

Room Tip: be careful of the in room safe - it's a design I haven't seen before and it is ultra sensiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy A, Manager at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit, we appreciate the opportunity to benefit from the feedback. I am happy to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating. Our goal is to offer exceptional service all the time and your review will help us to achieve that. Thank you for choosing the Philadelphia Marriott and we hope to welcome you back when you return to Philadelphia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The positive about this hotel is the location within walking distance of shops, bars and restaurants. The rooms were well sized and offered everything one needed (tea/coffe making facilities/ironing/desk for working etc).

The hotel is very traditionally furnished and is in dire need for a major refurbishment: Room furnitures are old, TV was working rather spontaneously, bathroom quite old and no attention to detail whatsoever. We were there while it was very cold so we had a warm blanket. However, the "duvet cover" was only a sheet which kept coming off the blanket. This was both uncomfortable and a bit disgusting as you can't be sure how often the blanket is cleaned....

I have never been at a Marriott where housekeeping was so unmotivated... Once the remote was underneath my blanket on the bed, once they didn't even bother to put all pillows back on the bed.

To sum up: the hotel is old in every sense of the word. Location is good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara F, Executive Guest Experience Liaison at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the maintenance and housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. Your feedback will be instrumental in the upcoming months as we continue to improve our product and service. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I was there for a conference and for the large scale of the event the handling was professional. Food was ok. Nevertheless it could be anywhere. What makes the difference is that the hotel is located perfectly to explore downtown and to go out in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We recently travelled from Sydney, Australia to attend the NSCAA Convention and chose the hotel due to its proximity to the Philadelphia Conference Centre.

The staff were very helpful however you had to ask to find out about the hotel's amenities and were directed to the Reading Terminal Markets for breakfast and the nearby restaurants for other meals. On separate matters both the IT and Engineering teams were extremely helpful and prompt in fixing issues we experienced. Our room was spacious and well maintained, however we'd prefer to access fresh air by opening windows, particularly at night rather than continuously run an air conditioner which can be noisy and difficult to maintain an even room temperature.

Overall we did enjoy the hotel, its proximity to the Conference Centre and the city's major attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara F, Executive Guest Experience Liaison at Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor! We greatly appreciate the feedback both positive and negative. We strive to deliver the best that our customers like you deserve and expect but obviously did not meet your expectations and for that we apologize. Your comments will be shared with our staff so immediate corrective action can be taken where necessary. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Philadelphia Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.