We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Average Big City Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Great Summer Rates!
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Location, Average Big City Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was here on business, and this is connected to the convention center, which makes it very convenient. The lobby is busy, bustling, and typical for an in-town, large city Marriott. That also makes the rooms maybe a little over priced, but you know what you're getting. We didn't eat in the hotel because are so many good places within easy walking distance.

One ding; booking through the convention site, instead of Marriott, means they didn't account for my rewards nights, even though I gave them my number at check in. The Marriott rewards system puts all the onus on you to account for nights they missed. It's a pain and not customer-friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    863
    401
    135
    73
See reviews for
328
370
123
889
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was right across from the Reading Terminal Market AND right across from a wine store so it was perfect even if you wanted to just have a relaxing night in the room after a day out and about in the city. Staff was courteous and needs for travelling with family of four were met adequately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Deutschland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Was there for a huge conference and my colleagues booked it as it directly adjacent to the Convention Center.For me the Marriotts in the US are all pretty much the same (standardized). So was this one. Large room with two queen size beds, a desk and an arm chair. Large flat screen plus the option to link your computer to the TV as it seems (never tried it).
The interior is not fancy but sufficient. As mentioned before: internet at 13 bucks is an insult. Concerning breakfast I recommend to go to the Down Home Diner or Reading Market.
Bathroom - as said before shower curtains . Also the ceiling could use another layer of paint.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My friend booked a room here for me and my bride-to-be one night in advance as part of our wedding gift. Check-in was a breeze. The room was clean and comfortable with a nicely sized bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The view from our exact room was nice, but when you walked the halls it was a treat to see all the buildings and around the downtown area. Check-out was also a breeze and the woman at the front desk was quick to provide us with tooth brushes and tooth paste since we forgot ours at home. This hotel DOES NOT have parking other than valet, so we parked across the street. We loved being next to Reading Terminal Market and only a few blocks from the shopping district. I appreciated the fact that you have to have a room key to use the elevators. The cost for the room wasn't unreasonable considering the "going rate" for a downtown room, but I do consider that rate to be high.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at the Marriot for a conference my wife was attending. The best thing was its' location. You are downtown, Chinatown is a short distance away and the Reading Terminal was across the street. Personally I like having my car nearby because you always forget something. We had to use the valet service. The only downside to that is the wait. Plenty of good things to eat and see in the terminal regardless of the temperature. They have an excellent gym and heated pool. Perfect place to wind down.

Room Tip: I prefer the higher floors to get a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you're looking for a super comfortable hotel with big lux rooms and service that treats you like an honored guest - this is not your place. I came to this hotel for a law convention, but thought that since it was a Marriott that it would at least feel like a higher-scale hotel. The rooms were small and basic, and the service was severely lacking. Quite a shame. I expect more from Marriotts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location two blocks from City Hall and one block to the Reading Terminal and connected to the Convention Center. It just off the Market East Septa Regional Rail line as well.
My bed had hair on the sheets when I arrived, but this was rectified quickly. There was a moderate amount of street noise. My double room was spacious.
It would be nice to have card readers on both sides of the elevator.
The pool is on the smaller side, but nice. The exercise room has many nice treadmills and ellipticals, plus a full circuit of weight training equipment.

Room Tip: I did not see the spa or try breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott and getaroom.com so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.