We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overall nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location two blocks from City Hall and one block to the Reading Terminal and connected to the Convention Center. It just off the Market East Septa Regional Rail line as well.
My bed had hair on the sheets when I arrived, but this was rectified quickly. There was a moderate amount of street noise. My double room was spacious.
It would be nice to have card readers on both sides of the elevator.
The pool is on the smaller side, but nice. The exercise room has many nice treadmills and ellipticals, plus a full circuit of weight training equipment.

Room Tip: I did not see the spa or try breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    817
    385
    125
    68
See reviews for
308
354
118
828
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuxedo, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown while in town for a meeting. My second stay at this property revealed that it could use some updating. Peeling wall covering in bathrooms and dated lobby. Otherwise, the staff and meeting rooms were exemplary. Food was outstanding and sleeping room overall tastefully appointed. Bonus is location and accessibility to everything in Philly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed there one night to see UPA's Roman Mosaic exhibit. Hotel is conveniently located near the Reading Market. The Courtyard and another Marriott are all next to each other. The hotel is very large so get on the right elevator bank otherwise it is a long walk.
I wanted to watch the Cards-Philly game but the only way to do it was to go down to the bar. The pool is large but was cold. There is also no Business Center, but you can use the Fed Ex office. Typical FedEx, one person with a line to wait.I wanted to visit the Eastern St Penitentiary (both exhibits were great). Instead I just went to Concierge and he was very helpful. I also visited the Mutter Museum and it was also worth seeing.
The room size is adequate, the soundproofing is effective and the beds and pillows were great. The shower pressure was very strong and the room was clean. Though they would have a bathrobe, but they didn't provide one. There is also a coffee/tea maker in the room. Instead of the expensive breakfast I went to Reading Market where there are 6-10 excellent options.
If you mare looking for a quality hotel in downtown Philly the Marriott is a excellent choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here for a business event. The room was clean and accommodating, and all staff members were helpful and friendly. The location is great, and within walking distance of most attractions in downtown Philly. The bar was also great for relaxing after a day of meetings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went to a convention and had a wonderful time staying at this hotel. Location could not have been better! Rooms were nice and clean and valet was most helpful in giving instructions on what and where to see historical sites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Philadelphia Marriott during April for a couple of nights. It is a large hotel that is centrally located within Center City, and it is a good choice for business travelers. Here are my thoughts:

Room: Despite being located on busy Market Street, my room seemed to be sound proofed because I could not hear anything outside my room. That includes my neighbors. The room was very clean and the furniture seemed newer.

Location: The hotel is conveniently within walking distance of the convention center, City Hall, Reading Terminal Market, and restaurants on Broad Street.

Transportation: The SEPTA train (Market-Frankford and Broad Street trains), trolley and bus lines all stop at or within a block of the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott first off parking is a bit expense infact very expensive itwas almost 50 dollars. The hotel was extremely busy with many guest pertisapating in a tournament. We booked two rooms on the concierge lounge. The rooms were nice decent size tv and very clean and very comfotal beds.They were offering turndown service, by knocking on each door which was slightly bothersome. Overall the property was big there's a Stabucks on the lobby floor but be prepared for the long lines, since its available to both guests and the public. One thing I found discouraging was the lack of security especially since there where a few questionable characters that would enter from the connecting Convention Center. This hotel was also quite a walk from Independent hall. The pool and workout facility was exceptional and views were great. Overall nice hotel

Room Tip: When booking a room make sure you try to request room that offer elevators from the lobby otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.