We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Wilmington De
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great location in Center City, easy walk to shopping, historical areas, bars, and restaurants. Hotel is next to convention center and around the corner from China Town. Indoor pool is quite nice, though no hot tub. Workout room is not spectacular but adequate. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    819
    386
    126
    68
See reviews for
309
354
118
831
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

As many others have said, the location is fantastic. Connected to the convention center and directly across the street from Reading Terminal Market, one of the best sights in Philly. Reading some of these reviews, I was nervous about coming here, but I had a wonderful experience. Communication was a little off, as I'd requested a king room and we were initially put in a double, but that was quickly rectified with a sincere apology. The front desk staff were very polite, the room was lovely, with modern but warm decor. The lobby is gorgeous. I didn't use hotel parking, so can't comment on that, although I do think the rate is high - though not out of line with other downtown hotels. The valets did seem to have their hands full when I checked out around 9AM on a Sunday. Not sure if it's worth rack rate, but on a Priceline deal, it's a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Porpoise, Maine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Excellent, excellent Marriott property. Comfortable and relaxing lobby and bar area, easy check in and check out, well appointed rooms. The Elite Lounge Club on the 23rd floor was one of the best that we have experienced. The Hotel is a short walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, the Franklin Mint and other historical attractions. The double decker tour bus stop is just out the door and do take it---it is 90 minutes, get on get off, with 20 stops and a great value. The hotel is in the middle of the shopping and restaurant areas and only a very short walk to theatre district. I would rate it as one of the best non resort Marriotts that we have been to. A really nice experience for our phirst time in Philly.

Room Tip: We were on the 23rd floor---no noise and great view of the city from where our room was situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A typical Marriott.The rooms are small, and look like any other Marriott in any other city. The best thing about the hotel is it's location to the convention center, with a walkway directly into the building so you don't have to go outside. It has a very nice lobby and lounge, but I think that it is overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a convention. It's attached to the hall but its still a hike to get to the convention center. Room was clean and relatively quiet. Bed was comfortable with fluffy comforter. No refrigerator tho. Prices are high so do Priceline or dome discount service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Recently completed another stay at this location, where I've been at least a half dozen times. The hotel is within walking distance of the historic area and the theater district and is adjacent to the convention center and the Reading market. This is somewhat of a typical big city Marriott though it has a large, attractive bar in the middle of the lobby. There is also a lobby restaurant. Rooms are typical Marriott: we had a comfy king bed and a large flat screen. Mini-fridges are a nice touch. We arrived early evening on a Saturday and the valet lot was full, though on duty asst manager Michael got me a spot once I complained, as I am a platinum member. No concierge over the weekend and as they have discontinued the practice of providing free weekend breakfast to premium rewards members, you might be inclined to look elsewhere for a weekend stay, especially as there are two other Marriott properties (a Residence Inn and a beautiful Courtyard) within a block that might offer better rates. In addition to the Reading Market, there are many fine food choices within walking distance, so I didn't eat at the hotel. But if the price is right, this is a very comfortable choice for a stay in downtown Philly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've stayed here three times in 2013 and feel compelled to give it a great review. It is a great locations within walking distance of great sights and good restaurants. It is nice, clean and a great value considering its location. I've stayed here on business and find the attached Starbucks and Kinkos very convenient too. The concierge lounge on the top floor for Elite members is really nice too. I won't stay anywhere else when in Philly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.