We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION TIRED BEDS” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Rancho Mirage, CA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION TIRED BEDS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Convenient to everything historical, shopping, convention center. The beds just have not been upgraded to newer Marriott standards, very hard. Room size excellent for a city hotel, nice flat screen. We had some issues with TV but the techs were there in a hurry. Staff friendly, efficient and had everything as requested organized for our arrival. Starbucks on ground floor (free Wi Fi as opposed to hotel's surcharge of $14 a day) and Reading Terminal Market next door took care of any food needs we had. Good value at $150 per day during holidays

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    756
    358
    116
    65
See reviews for
288
325
111
763
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I spent the first weekend in December at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown for a quick family getaway.
The location is fantastic! Easy walking distance to Independence Hall, Love Park, Macy's (and the old Wanamaker's light show) and directly across the street from Reading Terminal Market.
The hotel was clean and well-appointed and the staff was friendly and courteous.
I would recommend the hotel and it's location highly and I will definitely look to make this an annual event.

Room Tip: We were on the 22nd floor. We had a great view of the city and could see all the way down Broad Stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel is close to attractions - Center City, Reading Market, Independence Hall - all within walking distance. Being in the city, valet parking is the way to go here. Rooms are typical Marriott rooms - nice and spacious and clean. Stayed here for a conference and so most meals were provided for us. Food was typical hotel fare...we did eat in the restaurant (Thirteen) one night though. It was quite disappointing....we had light fare, but found the food to be overly salty. Ordered a side of mashed potatoes and it was completely inedible. I would suggest you try one of the multitude of restaurants in the area/city instead of eating here.

The business center was a full blown fedex center so everything available for the business traveller.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for a convention. The hotel is clean, room are small but OK, across the street from Chillis, 7 eleven, City Hall and the famous market. I was surprised that I stayed for four days and ONLY ONE employee said good morning or Happy Holidays. No holiday spirit, other than the Christmas tree.

Room Tip: I did not used the Spa. I stayed in a room facing the 12st street. Walking distance (15min) to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Was recently there for a wedding. Not enough parking in the lot to accommodate all the guests. My brothers-in-law were turned away and sent off-site. Rooms were clean and adequate. Lobby was bustling and a bit crowded for my liking.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I just stayed at the Marriott for business, 10 days ago. The front desk staff and concierge, on the only day I asked for help, were letter or of the law, and no more. This is, though, a great location, and having the Reading Terminal Market just over the road made up for the unhelpful staff. They have free wi-fi too!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was the most disappointing Marriott I have stayed in. Overall, we found the whole experience to be hectic and below typical standards of cleanliness. If you have been in downtown Philadelphia you know the general feeling (which is fun and interesting on the streets) but it extends to the hotel environs.

Check in line took about 25 minutes and when we got to the front the very pleasant woman informed us our room wasn't ready, which was fine. They called us about 5 minutes later and said it was now ready but we had to wait in line again (???) to check in and get the key. I found this extremely inconvenient.

This was the general theme. Upon check-out, our bags took close to 20 minutes to get from the bell captain and to get our valet parked car it took more than 45 minutes. Perhaps it was a busy time, things like this happen, but it was mayhem and there were no systems to deal with the needs of many people although they seemed to be trying their best.

The wifi, like at most Marriotts, costs roughly $15 / day. But it couldn't be used in the convention areas, only your room and public areas. I wanted to use it during the day and the evening and found this frustrating.

Lastly, while the rooms were clean, the public areas of this hotel were not. Bathrooms were sometimes quite disgusting and reminded me more of a train station.

I like staying downtown in hotels, it's fun to be right in the middle of the action. However, I expect an upscale property such as this to offer a respite from that action and most comparable hotels accomplish this quite well. This property has a lot of work to do.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.