We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacklustre service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Save Saved
You added Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #40 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lacklustre service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I just stayed at the Marriott for business, 10 days ago. The front desk staff and concierge, on the only day I asked for help, were letter or of the law, and no more. This is, though, a great location, and having the Reading Terminal Market just over the road made up for the unhelpful staff. They have free wi-fi too!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    607
    298
    96
    56
See reviews for
231
270
91
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was the most disappointing Marriott I have stayed in. Overall, we found the whole experience to be hectic and below typical standards of cleanliness. If you have been in downtown Philadelphia you know the general feeling (which is fun and interesting on the streets) but it extends to the hotel environs.

Check in line took about 25 minutes and when we got to the front the very pleasant woman informed us our room wasn't ready, which was fine. They called us about 5 minutes later and said it was now ready but we had to wait in line again (???) to check in and get the key. I found this extremely inconvenient.

This was the general theme. Upon check-out, our bags took close to 20 minutes to get from the bell captain and to get our valet parked car it took more than 45 minutes. Perhaps it was a busy time, things like this happen, but it was mayhem and there were no systems to deal with the needs of many people although they seemed to be trying their best.

The wifi, like at most Marriotts, costs roughly $15 / day. But it couldn't be used in the convention areas, only your room and public areas. I wanted to use it during the day and the evening and found this frustrating.

Lastly, while the rooms were clean, the public areas of this hotel were not. Bathrooms were sometimes quite disgusting and reminded me more of a train station.

I like staying downtown in hotels, it's fun to be right in the middle of the action. However, I expect an upscale property such as this to offer a respite from that action and most comparable hotels accomplish this quite well. This property has a lot of work to do.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow, Alaska
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Rooms are on the worn side and the cleaning is just enough to give it that fresh look, however the details of cleanliness show when looking closely. Beds are average and on the cheap side of quality.
Road noise is clearly heard on 10th floor. Hall noise is clear when anyone was outside. plus, I could hear noises through the walls and ceiling.
Hotel staff is helpful and friendly when I needed them. Lobby does seem too accessible to all and I witnessed Starbucks having to clear out non-guests each day from the back entrance. No Marriott security.
Location is great for a good walk to get some excellent food and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This visit everything went wrong-- the food was terrible, the hotel seemed understaffed. The calls to the operator weren't answered. It took 20 minutes sitting in the hotel drive for the valet to get to my car. The ice machine didn't work. The room service sandwich the bread was so stale it crumbled. If I hadn't had a meeting here I would have left. I am a platinum Marriott rewards member and my mom worked for corporate Marriott for years. Mr. Marriott would not be pleased with the state of this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Stay at the Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Overall, the room & service were fine, nothing exceptional but nothing poor. The location of this hotel is what made it great! 1 block from Reading Terminal Market and multiple great restaurants/bars. I would definitely stay again for the convenience factor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. Great location if you have business that the PA Convention Center. Close to Reading Terminal. I stayed in a suite - bathroom was a bit outdated. Ovearll, room was fine. Nothing extremely special, just a nice average business hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I staid at this hotel 300 USD/night 4 nights. Very poor service, rude and not trained staff. Room was dirty, dusty carpets, filty underneath my bed. Service overall amongst the worst I have experienced in US.
A hotel with more then 1000 rooms, caters for large congresses, so stay away if you can.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel
Marriott Philadelphia
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.