We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Accommodations, Convenient Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accommodations, Convenient Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel was tastefully decorated, clean, and the beds were very comfortable. My stay was due to business, and I was able to get the govemment rate, which made my stay affordable. Several of my meals, breakfasts and lunches, were catered by the hotel, and they were delicious. One day there was a lunch buffet with various meats, cheeses breads, croissants, and salads. In addtion, there was brocolli soup, and a buffet of all kinds of sweet treats. This was one of the nicest buffets I have been served as part of the convention package. The second day, we had a sit down lunch with cold melon soup, which was a new experience for me, but was very good, and a ceasar salad with a breast of chicken on top. Again, a very ample meal, well-served, and very good. The front desk staff, bellmen, cleaning ladies, and valets are to be commended for their outwardly courteous service. The only disappointment was the conscierge service. Being in meetings until 5:00 my time to take in some of the sights was limited. In explaining that, she simply pulled a couple of brochures and said I could find out what I needed from them. She was correct, but in dealing with conscierges in other locations, a more personalized approach has been taken. There was no one else waiting so I did not feel that we were intruding on other guests. My 3 phone calls did produce the results needed, but I felt it could have been handled more efficiently and effectively from the concierge, rather than the question and answer phone calls.

Room Tip: Request a high floor. You may even want to suggest a cormer room, which is slightly larger than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    754
    358
    116
    65
See reviews for
288
324
110
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

nice hotel, clean rooms, comfortable beds. but...honestly, i wouldn't stay here again if not for the fact that it was assigned to me via "name your own" price website. (80 bucks was the winning bid by the way) i'm sorry, but in 2012 at a marriott... i should NOT have to pay 13 bucks for internet. parking was a bit absurd also, but there are plenty of places to park right across the street, and down the corner. be conscious of that. location is flat out amazing though

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor, trust me on this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a Marriott Level 5 hotel and it's a nice one in Philadelphia, but doesn't offer much more over the Residence Inn and Courtyard that are directly next door. At the Residence Inn, Breakfast is included...at the higher quality Marriott, it's not. I'm not sure why I'd stay at this Marriott over the Residence Inn...the only advantage was that the Marriott has a bar in the lobby...aside from that, it offers no benefit despite a higher room rate.

The staff were very friendly and breakfast was good...but not great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Marriott Downtown is okay. Nothing special. On the plus side my room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. The fitness centre is well equipped and open 24/7. The hotel is very close to the Market St East station and you can use the train to and from the airport. There are also good places to eat nearby e.g Maggianos. On the minus, there is no free Internet anywhere in the hotel, the room service breakfast was poor and the rooms facing Market Street can be noisy. So, if you get a good rate then it is worth considering.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here for a night the room was a little small but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Right across from the hotel is the Reading Terminal a must see. Across the street was a Hard Rock Cafe if you want a quick late night bite to eat. We had a problem with our TV not working, called to inquire and was told that it was a problem that evening in other rooms as well. We received a $100 off our bill for the trouble. Very nice staff, helpful with directions. You have to valet your car which is way overpriced. Overall not a bad stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

good hotel in downtown Philadelphia. A little creepy walking around at night though. conceirge lounge is good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Enjoyed out stay in Philadelphia and our room at the Marriott. Check-in was a little slow and the room was not ready but I think the front desk was a little overwhelmed with the numbers perhaps. It is very conveniently located and walking to sites - including the local free tour of historical downtown locations - was very good. Our room was comfortable and we managed a good sleep in spite of the fact we were still suffering a bit of jet lag. Service was quick and friendly. Enjoyed the bar, Quick food in the restaurant was fine and the waitresses were very friendly. It was our first visit to Philadelphia and found the downtown to be most attractive. Also took a taxi over to U Penn and the museum which is worth a visit. Nearby restaurants are also very good if your have the time.

Room Tip: It was a bit of maze with elevators and the route to the convention centre - but once you figured i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.