We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Philadelphia Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #43 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was our first visit to the Philadelphia Marriott and it will be our last. First the positive comments. The hotel is located in the heart of the downtown area near lots of shopping, restaurants, and historic sites. They also just redecorated and renovated the lobby and rooms which gives it a very modern and clean appearance. Also since we are elite members and stay at other Marriott properties, we were able to check in using the elite check in kiosk. This was the best part of the trip. During the check in process they also gave us access to the internet being an elite member (this was a joke...thank goodness we didn't pay for this pathetic service).

The journey to our room required us to cross a bridge to another tower and up 8 floors wasn't difficult but cumbersome. Once into our room, it was quaint with a king sized bed. The view was high but unspectacular of the back of the convention center. Also, the elevators were just next door creating a droning vibration every time someone accessed the elevator. The internet was 2 tiered with the 1st tier (what we were given) as a slow crawl to an upgrade which you could pay for ever more money. Google searches were slow at times...especially during peak use between 4 pm and 10 pm. Don't bother paying for this service. It sucks!

The new bathroom was clean but extremely drab with overuse of beige and clearly signs of cutbacks occurred here. Unfortunate since they had spent a fortune on the rest of the hotel. The plumbing was coming apart at the seems and the toilet kept filling up due to a leak in the stopper. The door knob to the bathroom was cheaply made and falling apart. This seemed unacceptable for a brand new renovation.

The in room safe was not functional. We called maintenance but they never showed up after 30 minutes so we decided to leave. There was no indication that they ever came to fix the problem.

Parking can be a disaster. Not only are you only able to access the parking through the back of the hotel but there are no clear signs. The direction of the traffic is also counter intuitive creating more confusion than anything else.

These rooms run 300+ dollars for the weekend and in my opinion some of the worst for your money. Stay somewhere else for your money such as the Rittenhouse which is only a few dollars more.

Room Tip: Request not to be close to elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    753
    357
    116
    65
See reviews for
287
324
110
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
17019
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The prices were very reasonable considering the hotel was located on Market, within walking distance of historic locations, excellent restaurants and museums. The bed toppers were a little lumpy but still comfy enough to sleep. Clean and nice size. The staff was superb! The kids loved it and we are going to go back without kids :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The good part is that the Marriot is centrally located. The bad part is that the Marriot is centrally located. The area is challenging, not recommended for families. The convention center is nearby, as is a terrific food court that excels in a dream of not so fast food cuisine offerings.

The hotel itself is clean. However, the walls are paper thin. And, the ceilings aren't too soundproof either. Don't get a room below the gym or any other public place, you will not get a good sleep. Not worth three figures a night.

Room Tip: Do not get a room below the gym or any other public place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This will be updated post-stay but had to comment on my experience so far.

I called to confirm a reservation I "won" through Priceline. Here's why: 1. There were discrepancies between the Priceline receipt and the hotel reservation online including the fact that the credit card on the hotel reservation was not even mine. That concerns me. Hope no one else is paying for my room. I do the right thing and call and the hotel staff can do nothing about it, Priceline says not to worry.
2. Priceline asks that you call the hotel to ask about rooms. Reservation says for a king or two doubles. I ask the hotel staff if I can request a double since I am traveling with my child. She again can't possibly put a note in the system about it. I ask her what would happen if I showed up? Would I get a double or a king. She doesn't answer but says she can't do anything about it. What kind of answer is that? Priceline faxes a request for a double. Who knows what we will end up with in the end.

Doesn't anyone care about helping the customer have a good experience? Marriott, you are such a reputable company and I have stayed at this hotel in the past. I hope my visit will prove better than this initial experience. Stay tuned...

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nicely refurbished, but expensive and a cavernous lobby that's louder than Grand Central Station at evening rush hour. If vacation traveling, try for something smaller, more charming.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for a couple nights. The staff is very friendly. The restaurant was a bit pricey but food was good. It is in a good location and right beside Reading Terminal Market.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Marriott downtown for a friend's wedding weekend and loved it. The hotel is very clean and modern with several fine bars and a solid restaurant. The room was standard but everything was done very well. We had an early check in and requested a later check out and the staff was very helpful. The location is great for walking to all the tourist attractions in Philly. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.