We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical location and convenience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great historical location and convenience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having grown up in a Philadelphia suburb and attending my 50th college reunion at Penn, was a treat to spend a few nights downtown at the former City Hall Annex. Location was quite noisy but aside from some sleep deprivation from the traffic, the hotel and staff were great. Better restaurant than many Courtyards, and a real treat to have a Starbucks on the premises. Only problem was the limited entryway which caused problems getting a cab, but still better than the costly parking fee.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which was quite noisy (from the traffic). Might have been better higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We appreciate you providing us the feedback on your recent visit. When hotel is at high occupancy at times the entryway could get a little congested, I apologize for the inconvenience caused. I am glad to read that the hotel and staff were great. Thank you again for your feedback and business. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    569
    128
    41
    9
See reviews for
325
313
70
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I've stayed here four times and love it. Fantastic location near the Reading Terminal Market. Hotel is lovely and staff is very helpful. Rooms are nice and the beds very comfy. Starbucks in the lobby is a nice plus.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for the Memorial Day weekend. At the time I made the reservation there were no other rooms available but the corner rooms, so we spent a little bit extra and went with that.

This hotel is conveniently located to the Convention Center, Reading Terminal Markets and downtown, including public transportation. We used both public transportation and the PHLASH tourist trams to get around but could also walk to many of the places we wanted to see as well, which was nice. This hotel is just a block or two from the Market East train station which has the train one can take to the airport.

The room, as it was a corner room was large with a sofa and two comfy chairs, Very large flat screen tv. It was interesting, given the size of the room that the bathroom vanity counter was not that large. The room came with one of the one cup coffeemakers which in this case would not allow us to brew hot water for tea. I went down to the front desk to ask if they had any of the old coffee carafe brewers which I knew would allow us to brew tea, but they no longer have any. The front desk staff was helpful though and found another type of the one cup coffeemaker that would allow one to brew hot water for tea and had it brought up to our room fairly promptly. Unfortunately the next morning we found that this machine was not fully functional, the only way it would work is if one stood there and pushed the button down the entire time the water was heating.

One other observation I would make was the the water in the sink and bath came out VERY hot. Typically it takes a short bit for the water to heat up but here it came out hot quickly. Parents of children might wish to be careful with this. It did make it lovely for showers as there was next to no waiting for hot water as is the case in some larger/older hotels. Probably should have just used the water from the sink to make my tea, it felt hot enough.

Issues? we had a view of the Reading Market but the drapes didn't close tightly so as we were on the east side of the building, the early morning sun snuck through the cracks. We've seen other hotels figure out ways around this issue. And one night housekeeping didn't leave us a lining for the ice bucket or glasses. This was resolved quickly enough.

One big issue for my dh was he went down to use the business center and found out that there was a six dollar charge to use the business center. This was a first at a Courtyard, we've stayed in the downtown Chicago Courtyard and not been charged for business center use so that was not really ok. The Internet in the room was free, however, which not all other large hotels get [cough, Westin, Hyatt Regency, cough]

We didn't use the pool but it looked nice, albeit a bit small, fitness area also looked good. The staff were very competent and efficient.

Overall, this hotel worked out fine for what we were looking for with this trip. The central location is great and the hotel itself, in the old City Annex, is a beautiful restoration/transition into a hotel.

One tip: if you need an ATM, go to the 7-11 next door, the fee is $2, a little less than the ATM at the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This property is a refurbished historic building across from City Hall. While not a charming section of Philadelphia, it gives you easy access to the Convention Center, and both Center City and Old City are a 10 minute walk away.

Lobby and common areas are beautifully restored. Rooms' sleeping areas are newly refurbished. Bathrooms are standard Courtyard (composite sink, standard commode and bath, barely serviceable toiletries). Rooms are well maintained.

Kudos for one of the best front desk greetings and encounters I've encountered (thanks Zac).

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback. It is with great pleasure to share your wonderful comment regarding Zac our front desk staff with all of our associates. Zac will be recognized for his exemplary service at our upcoming Associate Rally.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is truly one of the nicest Courtyards we have stayed at. Centrally located across from City Hall and only a block from the Convention Center. Setting is the old City Hall Annex with original brass and marble throughout the lobby. Room was very large and very nicely appointed. Everything was very clean and fresh, furnishings included. Staff were helpful. Felt very safe walking outside in the immediate neighborhood. We were on a convention rate which was quite reasonable. One annoyance was the business center where i was charged $9 to print 4 pages of a word document (black and white, single side regular paper)! You have to buy a minimum of 15 min computer time to print anything, and you are not advised of this prior to printing. Hotel would not make an adjustment as this is a third party vendor. Note parking is valet only and $40/night. Highly recommend this, particularly if you need a central location, but use any if the Fedex Centers in the immediate area rather than the business center.

Room Tip: Room 711 was very quiet and quite spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The room was good, and the location was one block from the convention center, also close to city hall, Reading terminal market. Room cost moderately high, free internet, but $40/day for parking. If you want downtown, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

When I first walked in, I didn't think I was going to like this hotel. It's an old building, built in the 1920s that has been renovated and turned into a hotel. I was here for a medical meeting that was taking place in the way-to- big Philadelphia Convention Center. ( it's like having a convention in the Atlanta airport, only bigger.). But back to the hotel. The room was immaculate and very well appointed. it had no safe, but there was a refrigerator. It was spotless and everything was in its proper place and housekeeping kept it that way for the duration of my three night stay. There was a coffee maker and the 42 inch flat screen plasma TV. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and everything worked. I had two dinners in the hotel restaurant and they were both very good. The service was fine too. An extra plus is that there is a Starbucks in the lobby. I had a very pleasant stay and would certainly consider coming back here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.