We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Unlike most Courtyards, this is an classic old build right in downtown Phily, right near the regular Marriott and the Residence Inn literally within a block or so of each other. Great walking distance to many sites and were treated well. Breakfast and dinner OK, nice gym area pool real small but not unusual for a hotel.

Room Tip: High floors facing from better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and business. We look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    508
    107
    37
    9
See reviews for
286
270
65
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here during a congress and brought my family with me. The people at the desk were so friendly and helpful throughout our stay. They moved me to a larger room with a wonderful view of the city when they saw that I had brought my husband and children. The location is perfect for the convention centre, chinatown and food as well as a short walk in all directions to shopping areas, museums and the old city. I would definitely stay here again if I needed to be in Philadelphia another time!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that our front desk staff were very friendly and helpful throughout your stay. We take great pride and are fortunate to have a team of associates who strive to make our guests' experience memorable. Thank you again and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Once you can find the location as a little tricky when driving with 1 way streets and City Hall, you will get a warm greeting and mostly fine service. Rooms are a little old and worn as usual for a courtyard but still nicely maintained. Lot of culture and history here and great central location for convention center and center city. Finally, I got my upgrade to a nice comfortable suite which made work easier. A little steep on valet parking. Only offered a 1:30 late checkout and hoped a little later and luggage valet was 15+ minute wait at that time was the only minor issue. Helped for restaurant choices and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonkers
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed at a few Courtyard Marriotts and this is what I've come to expect from a Courtyard. Comfortable room, clean, accomodating staff and close to everything. The grounds are very nice and there were other events going on in the hotel at the time I stayed. Gym is fine, new machinery, comfortable. Pool could've used more chlorine and I wouldn't touch the hottub.

The attraction of this hotel was it was close to everything. Great view of the city from the room, bed a little too soft, but definitely no complaints on this room. As comfortable as I expect from a Courtyard Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Obtained good value by booking though a dicount accommodation site. Rooms and service good. One drawback was having to pay cash only for drinks in a function room - could not even charge to the room. Happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback. We would welcome speaking with you further on the matter regarding the cash bar in the function room and we hope you will contact us directly at (215) 832-3048.

We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
178 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the rate of $179 +$27 tax booked from Marriott website whilst at a conference in the Loews nearby.

Standard Courtyard, clean comfortable, etc. Free wifi worked well but was slow in the mornings as people logged on. Decent gym from what i recall.

It's in the center of downtown as plenty of eating and drinking options outside the hotel and I didn't use any other hotel facilities.

compared with the Loews I thought it good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback and business. We are very fortunate to have so many wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor and we truly appreciate you taking the time to add your experience. Thank you for your understanding in the hotel free wifi that was slow in the mornings. This is valuable feedback as we move to improve the internet system.

We look forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a great time during our stay here. The room was very comfortable and the location of the the hotel is wonderful. Breakfast was not included in our stay but we did eat in the restaurant, the food was good but I thought was priced very high for what you got.
Overall I really like the court yard brand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.