We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to beat this location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, MA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“hard to beat this location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Located a block from Reading Station Market -- a must see place where one can get good local food at eating places, butcher shops, fishmongers, candy shops, bakeries, etc. Blocks from the Convention Center, and all the signts in central Philadelphia. It is walking distance from Museum Row, and particularly the Barnes museum which has a most impressive collection of Renoirs and Cezannes. Valet parking is convenient but expensive. Park at the garage 1/2 block from the hotel for half the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    525
    110
    37
    9
See reviews for
293
280
66
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Lake, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our flight was delayed dues to weather and we ended up checking in after 3am. The front desk people seemed not real happy to be there, just short of surly, maybe it was just me. Maybe it was the 400 AKA Sonority ladies checking in the next day.
The room was nice and large and it seemed clean and well kept up. The pillows were some of he largest I have ever seen in a hotel room, and for once there were more there than we needed. The bed was very just right and the linens felt clean and fresh. The first night sleep was wonderful.
The breakfast buffet was really well set up and we were informed by our server that if we just wanted toast or a bagel she would give us a special price, I was hungry so we went for the full buffet, kind of pricey for what it was.
The second night I realized that our room was connected to one of the courtesy suites for the sorority sisters, so at about midnight the after party started and run until about 1am. The next night was about the same, but we did so much walking in the city that i was too tired to get and I fell back asleep despite the noise.
Over all this was a real nice stay ( I am a pretty tolerant person), 2 of the five front desk staff seemed friendly, and house keeping did a great job.
Parking is whole different matter. The hotel is right at the corner of the circle across from city hall. They have a tiny drive that is crammed most of the time. There was never a time that I did not have to wait at least 40 minute to get my car from the valet, and then had to wait another 10 to 20 minutes to get out. Traffic really sucked on Monday when when we left.
Only three stars due to the front desk staff, being placed next to a party room and the horrible drive way.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get placed next to a courtesy suite, and take a cab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is very nice, not as elaborate as the Marriot the street but slightly less expensive too. Very enjoyable week. The only issue was it took four tries over five days to get a refrigerator that could make my can of diet coke cold.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times, the location is great. We always get a warm welcome at the front door. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. The service is top-knotch. Check out Maggianos restaurant nearby, it's excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with views of City Hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel experience was as I have become to expect from Marriott. The location of the hotel truly is Downtown, and décor was a treat. It mirrored Philly as it blended the old with the new, historic and trendy at the same time. The staff were very friendly and actually initiated conversations, offered suggestions on destinations and were eager to provide directions. I would have given a 5 rating, if not for the dirty towel located in my bathroom. I understand its a small detail, but I feel that its the little details that make a huge difference when travelling. With so many options available to travelers everything needs to be exactly right. Even with the dirty towel, I would recommend staying at the hotel as it is competitively priced and the location is unbeatable...across the street from City Hall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our room was fairly spacious -- and nicely renovated -- for a downtown hotel. We actually had a decent view of the city too. The location is great. It's right between City Hall and Reading Terminal Market.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ Metro area
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here while we went to see the Titanic Exhibit at Franklin Institute. Great location for all the Museums as they are in walking distance. Short cab ride to Liberty Bell, Betsey Ross house etc. Nice size pool and jacuzzi, decent bar/restaurant.

Room Tip: perfect place for the Reading Market and walking distance to the Museums. Great pool for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice property located near the city's Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.